Irresistible Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Great version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GUCKENJD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Photo by lace
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This pie was delicious and I'm just starting to like pecans. As others suggested, I added 1.5 tsp vanilla and 1 Tbsp flour to the batter. I baked in a deep dish pie plate on the 2nd to lowest shelf, but had to cover with foil in the last 10-15 minutes to avoid burning the top. Next time, I plan to bake at 325 instead of 350. I baked a chocolate pecan pie at 325 the same night and it came out perfect without having to cover it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
The only problem w/ this pie was me. I burned the top a little and so it was "extra" done...my friend who's a true Southerner said it was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
YUM! i must add that I did not use the pie crust recipe provided. instead, i used a prepared pie crust that i found at the local grocery store. few changes: i used about 2 cups of chopped pecans, and only a few whole pecans just to decorate the top. i didn't see the need for the extra finely chopped pecans. I also used 2 tablespoons of maple syrup instead of dark corn syrup. I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract and a pinch of cinnamon. Delicious! (i even think this pecan pie isa lot better than some of the pecan pies on this site with higher ratings!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bazzo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I made this for Fathers Day and oh my goodness,I should have made two.It was my first attempt at a pecan pie and what a hit.I did use pure maple syrup in place of the dark corn syrup and added some melted caramels mixed with a little milk plus 1 tbl of flour to the base.WOW!!!No need to look for any other recipe for pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was my first attempt ever at a pie made from scratch, and it turned out beautifully. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
My family and I found that this recipe is perfect! It isn't too sweet and is very nutty making for a perfect balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelicRene

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Silver Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
The title/description says it all! If I could give a 10 I would! Thank you thank you thank you since i've been looking for the perfect pecan pie recipe and this is it!!!! I like a kinda goey pecan pie and this is perfect goo to pecan ratio ;) LOVE IT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
The pie filling is terrific! However, the pie crust was really hard and crunchy, not flaky. I would have liked my regular pie crust better. But I will definitely be making this pie filling again. I hate it when pecan pies are nothing more than a sprinkling of nuts on top of a gelatinous goo, but this was delicious with nuts throughout a smooth buttery brown sugary filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I give this 5 stars for the same reason others gave it less - it has much more nuts than most pecan pie recipes. If you like the traditional pecan pie, this might be too nutty for you. If, however, you want more nuts than "goo" then this recipe is the one you want. The texture is great and the flavor is wonderful. I will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States