Irresistible Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Excellent pecan pie! I used a Pillsbury pie crust, so I can't comment on the crust, but the filling was amazing. Maybe it would be better with vanilla, but I had no complaints. I love all the pecans. This was the best pecan pie recipe I've used, and I've tried a few from this site. This pecan pie wasn't overly sweet, which is amazing for a pecan pie, even I liked it and I don't like pecan pie. I made this recipe as written. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I read the other reviews and made a few adjustments to the original recipe: I roasted the pecans, cut them into 1/4s and mixed these in with the wet ingredients - I added 11/2 tsp vanilla to the wet stuff. I then laid another cup of roasted whole pecans on the top of the pie in a pretty pattern before baking. I baked the pie on the bottom rack for 70 minutes, and there was no burning or drying out. It was delicious!! Roasting the nuts reduces the overly sweet, sugary taste that others complained about. I used my own pie crust recipe, so I cannot comment on the crust. A ready made pie crust would work just fine as the juices from the pie center are sweet and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Great recipe, but I did make a number of changes after doing a few test runs pre-Thanksgiving. Like others have suggested, I added 1 tsp of vanilla and 1 tbsp of flour. I also cut the light corn syrup to 1/2 cup and substituted the remainder with dark corn syrup and added 1 tbsp of maple syrup and 1 tbsp of bourbon (I used Maker's Mark) which adds to depth of flavor. I cut the amount of pecans and also saved a bit of the filling to pour over the top layer of pecans so they would have a glaze on them. Delicious! Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Turned out great. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I didn't have corn syrup,so i used honey,and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DD356
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This will be my 4th year making this Pecan Pie, my husband and his kids LOVE it! So easy to prepare. I make it with the Butter Flaky Crust also from this site. In the filling I do add a splash of vanilla and I have added a Tbsp of flour. Just serve it with a nice bold cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DD356

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I screwed the crust up so it turned it to pecan pudding. Still, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I make 4 of these pies twice a year for our semi-annual church bake sales, and they can not get enough of them! I don't tweek the recipe at all, and they come out just fine and delicious. Enjoy everyone! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is a keeper for us. I didn't bother with the additional 2 tbsp of dark corn syrup - just used the light corn syrup in it's place. I also added 1 tsp. of vanilla extract. I used 100 g. pkg of chopped pecans in the filling, and almost another full 100 g. pkg of whole pecans to decorate the top. I did add an additional egg to the filling this time, only because I was taking this to my parent's house and was worried that the filling might be too runny; next time, I'll leave the extra egg out. However, the filling was super-yummy and this pie was a hit. (I used a prepared crust, so I can't speak to what the crust was like).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 456) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Pecan Pie V

See how to make a top-rated pecan pie without the corn syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States