Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is our favorite Soda Bread. The only tip I can offer is that chemically leavened breads should sit out at room temp for 30 minutes or so in the loaf pan following the mixing to allow the soda and powder to do their jobs. This will create an airier loaf - this holds true for pancakes, biscuits, etc...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2565 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
From the photo of this bread, it does look irresistible. However, there is one ingredient that is not listed and probably makes this bread irresistible, and that is Raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Having never made soda bread before, I was confused as to which recipe might be "the best." I tried this recipe as well as "Amazingly easy Irish soda bread" (submitted by Megan). I liked this bread, but my husband thought it was really plain and boring. However, I LOVED the "Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread" recipe. So, while "Irresistible Irish Soda Bread" was VERY EASY and quite good, the "Amazingly Easy" version produces a bread with a tender, flaky crust and a slightly sweeter bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
905 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
This isn't traditional Irish Soda Bread, more like a sweet breakfast bread. I think it is better suited for a brunch or tea than St. Patrick's Day Celebrations! It was tasty, if a little bland. Adding currants makes it less bland (because it isn't like soda bread) and more like a homeade raisin bread. It was hard to reconcile the fact that the bread is both sweet and savory. If you want authentic Irish Soda Bread, check out the "Irish Brown Soda Bread" recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Wonderfully soft and moist. Everyone at our St. Patty's Day party loved it. I put the batter in two aluminum loaf pans (the kind you can throw away) and they baked up beautifully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Very Good. This bread is a soft dough, so you must put it into a bread pan, unlike other soda breads that you can shape into a loaf. This as with all soda breads is a dense bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
how much raisins?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
This was very quick and easy to make. I wrapped it in foil overnight and the next day it was so good. It's a good bread for soup or chili or stew. I will definately make this again. Janet McWhorter, Roanoke, Va.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
Quick and easy! I added some raisins and sour cream. Totally enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
I served this at my annual St Patrick's day party and it was a hit. Yummy, moist and the perfect accompaniment to Irish stew or corned beef and cabbage. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It has become part of the tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States