Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Great recipe! I'm from Greece, so I don't know whether this the original Irish soda bread or not, but I really liked it. The only reason I'm giving it 4 out 5 stars is because I've changed a couple of things to suit my family's tastes, so I don't know what the original recipe would taste like. We wanted it to be like a cake, so I've used one cup of sugar and added some raisins and chopped dried appricots...It tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was so good and so easy! I didn't change a thing. Just let it sit for 30 minutes before baking. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! So easy and so yummy. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Super easy and delicious. I've never made this before and the recipe is a keeper. I served this with Irish lamb stew and it was a perfect complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Tasty, but very cake-like. It was like cornbread without the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
We love this bread and make it exactly as the recipe reads. I am Italian/Jewish and finally made a Irish Soda bread my Irish husband loves! Thank you Karen for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Passaic, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tennga, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I hate to go against all the five stars, but this bread was just average. I substituted one cup of white whole wheat for one cup of AP flour. We ate it warm last night and it tasted like corn bread. Today, now that it's cool, the bread is rather bland and there's a strong baking powder aftertaste. If I made this again, I would definitely decrease the amount of baking powder. I have made better soda breads and will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Love this bread! Not considered "traditional" but is so much better than other recipes with currants - ick! Even better the next day, toasted and eaten with cinnamon and sugar on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianebuzz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is delish! Added raisins (store didn't have currents) and caraway seeds as previously suggested. We barely had any left over for the next day, this is keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States