Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
not the recipe that i used the first year. soda tasting, not sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I do a Foodie Friday night, where I cook for 12 to 18 people. I have served this bread 3 times. People rave about it. I had never tried it before this past St. Paddy's day and now it is in the regular rotation. Thank you for this great recipe. I am going to try to make it in cupcake tins this time, to get individual portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
My husband can't get enough of this bread. The fact that it is so easy to make is a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
My first time making soda bread, and I am so happy I chose this recipe! It couldn't have been easier to throw together. It baked up perfectly in 65 min for me. The hardest part was giving it time to sit after baking. Finally tried it today, and it is delicious, moist and just a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
YUMMY RECIPE!!! My entire family approved (from the hubby, to the pre-teen, to the elementary kid, to the toddler!) I made this recipe as-is except for one thing. I didn't have any buttermilk. Normally, I would simply make my own (mix in 2 tablespoons to 2 cups of milk and let it sit for a few minutes until it begins to sour). This time, however, I had sour cream. I'd read that you can replace buttermilk with 3 parts yogurt and 1 part milk. So I used sour cream instead of the yogurt. Basically, I used 1-1/2 cups sour cream and 1/2 cup milk. The bread baked with the creamiest texture I've had from a bread in a long time. It was absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Dusty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
It was so easy and so delicious. This is going to become a regular part of our dinners. I didn't have buttermilk on hand, so I added 2 tsp. of lemon juice to my almond milk. Worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
A moist, different twist on soda bread. I think the key is making the bread a day ahead as the submitter suggests. We liked this one as it didn't contain raisins. It paired nicely with 'Braised Corned Beef Brisket' 'Cream Cheese Colcannon' and 'Buttermilk Coleslaw' all AR recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
There are no words.... Just absolutely delicious bread. It's torture if you don't eat carbs! I think it is just sweet and moist enough that you could use it for strawberry shortcake. Also, I wrap it in foil and eat it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States