Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Yum, yum! I made per recipe letting bread rest for 30 mins before baking. I brushed the top with melted butter before, half way through and when I removed it from the oven. I made two loaves and they were quickly eaten. Very moist with a crunchy top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
For years I have tried different Irish soda bread recipes in an attempt to replicate the wonderful bread my Irish grandmother used to make. But, they all came out too dry. When I saw the high ratio of buttermilk to flour in this recipe, I decided to give it a try. I substituted a cup of whole wheat flour for one of the cups of all-purpose flour and decreased the sugar to 2 tablespoons (else I though it would be too sweet). When it was done cooking I turned off the oven and let it sit for an additional 10 minutes to get a nice, crunchy crust. The bread was delicious. Not as dry as most recipes, not too sweet (given my alteration) and with a crunchy, nutty crust. I also dusted the pan with a little cornmeal after buttering it, as I think my grandmother used to do that. This was perfect and my family is loving it whether or not it is 'authentic.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I thought I didn't like Irish soda bread until I made this delicious recipe. This bread is moist and tasty and even better with butter and tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthCoachCarol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I added raisins and let the batter rest for 25 minutes before baking. The raisins fell to the bottom while baking but the flavor was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I've made this four times now and it comes out fantastic. So easy! You can also add raisins to your personal taste - I used 1/2 cup dark raisins and 1/2 cup golden raisins. The only criticism I have is that when I baked it in the 9 x 5 loaf pan as specified, the batter puffed up too high and spilled out - fortunately I noticed and slid a cookie sheet underneath to catch the goo! After that I used a slightly larger loaf pan, 10 x 6, and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I made this bread this afternoon and LOVE it. It is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was so easy and tasted great! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I have made this several times over the past couple of years. It's fantastic! I always add raisins though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was my first taste of Irish soda bread. Love it. My loaf came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Made this exactly as directed and it was wonderful! I did brush the top with melted butter while hot. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 781) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States