Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
i was so happy to find a recipe that did not add raisins! most soda bread recipes are much more sweet than traditional irish soda bread - i have reduced the sugar in this recipe but its just as good with the 1/3 cup. this goes together quickly, and you can substitute 2 tbsp. lemon juice and enough milk to make 2 cups for the buttermilk if you don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
So yummy. I made this for an Irish Soda Bread day at work, and people devoured it. It's like a treat you'd get at a find and breakfast. Even better with golden raisins! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Delicious! I added a cup of raisins that I soaked in the buttermilk for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I don't care what you call it; we love this recipe. Since my DH doesn't like sweet things, I just cut the sugar in half. I don't like raisins which makes it perfect for me. Love the texture and ease!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
It was really nice! It's kind of like a giant biscuit. Would be nice with raisins in it. We served it with butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
My family loved it! Next time I will try adding raisins, since others have said it would make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
My family really liked this bread. It was moist and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I know this is supposed to be a very simple, dense bread, but it still didn't turn out the greatest. The picture shows a vivid white loaf, but I ended up with a yellow, cornbread-looking loaf, and the texture left something to be desired. It also took much longer to bake than the recipe called for (At least another 25-30 minutes, if I recall correctly). It tasted just okay, and I didn't have trouble eating the whole loaf by myself (I live alone), but I don't think I would make this again. For best taste, spread some preserves or jam on it. Spreading some butter on it was good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I saw Irish Soda Bread on a Julia Child show on PBS, and it looked so easy, I thought I would try it! This bread is delicious...honestly the dough has a very thick consistency that tasted like pancake batter (yum) and the end result reminded me of a cornbread consistency. I hope that's what it's supposed to be like! (haha) Bottom line, this is a very quick, very easy bread..even my boyfriend liked it and he's not a bread guy. I will definatley make this again!!! P.S. I did let the dough sit at room temp for 30 minutes, before baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States