Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I hate to go against all the five stars, but this bread was just average. I substituted one cup of white whole wheat for one cup of AP flour. We ate it warm last night and it tasted like corn bread. Today, now that it's cool, the bread is rather bland and there's a strong baking powder aftertaste. If I made this again, I would definitely decrease the amount of baking powder. I have made better soda breads and will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Love this bread! Not considered "traditional" but is so much better than other recipes with currants - ick! Even better the next day, toasted and eaten with cinnamon and sugar on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianebuzz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This is delish! Added raisins (store didn't have currents) and caraway seeds as previously suggested. We barely had any left over for the next day, this is keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
If you do not have buttermilk you may use 1 tablespoon of vinegar for each cup of milk. This recipes was very easy to make and delicious. I did not need to make any adjustments, perfect the way it is. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I am not a fan of raisins so I added craisins. It turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Nice and moist, much like Pampered Chef beer bread. I added raisins to half which was good, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I made only one loaf. It was not enough, this bread went very quickly with 4 adults and 6 boys ages 18 to 2. LOVE this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KimKim
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Second year in a row I am making this and its amazing. Very moist and easy to make! Tastes even better when you add raisins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimKim
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this for St Pat's day and it's delicious and SO easy to make. I am a very novice bread baker so I followed the instructions exactly. The loaf is almost gone and the bread is delicious with orange marmalade or cinnamon butter on it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was super easy and tasted wonderful! It was enjoyed by all age groups :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States