Irresistible Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
Good, but didn't taste much like soda bread....seemed to us that the flavor was somewhere between beer bread and a light, sweet cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
It went perfectly with the Irish Stew I made for dinner! I'm sure I will make again.It was really easy to make! Very good. I doubled the recipe and made two loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
It was startlingly delicious and ostensibly authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roary S. Walsh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Delicious! I had 2% milk that was starting to go bad (just smelled and tasted a bit off). I didn't want to throw it away, so I made my own buttermilk. I added 2 tablespoons of white vinegar to 2 cups of milk and waited 10 minutes. I prepared the recipe with 1/2 cup of sugar instead, since I like it really sweet. I let it sit in the loaf pan for 15 minutes before putting it in the oven. It came out delicious, so soft and moist. Doesn't taste like soda bread though, more like a sweet cake. I prepared it in the past using buttermilk and I have to say, it's much better this way, with my homemade buttermilk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lollygagger
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Yes, for all who say this is not a traditional ISB recipe, this may be true but, my husband, born and raised in Ireland loves and prefers this recipe. It is has gentle sweet notes, and a more substantial texture and moist. Slathered with a knob of butter is the best way to enjoy this "Wanna-Be ISB" with a good cup of tea. I add 1 1/2 cups of raisins to mine. Since this bread rises quite a bit I also divide the batter/dough into two 9x5 glass loave dishes. Important to note, because it's divided, it is golden brown and done in 50 minutes. Perfect every time...I've made this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lollygagger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Everyone goes CRAZY over this simple bread. My husband thinks I should give the recipe to our nearby Irish Pub since this bread is sooooo much better. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Great bread. Goes great with corned beef and cabbage. You want something not to powerful of a taste to not over power the light tastes of cabbage and corned beef and this fit the bill... on it's own it could use a little something but for a good basic irish bread it was amazing and worked with the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gabbygee
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Wow! Wow! Wow! As written, this recipe is awesome! The taste and texture is great. I buttered my bread pan for a better crust and it turn out fabulous! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Delightful :) Made this for the family after St. Patricks day. Almost didn't have enough it went over so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 829) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States