Iron Range Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Have made this many times and each time it is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made this today and it was everything I remember from when I briefly lived on the Iron Range in northern Minnesota. My pork roast was 7.5 lb. so I doubled the spices and used whole fennel which I prefer. My butcher was nice enough to de-bone the shoulder roast, so I seasoned it and tied it myself. Thank you for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great recipe for juicy, flavorful pork. And it's so easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Decent pork roast recipe-- a good change up from using Boston Butt for pulled barbeque. I didn't have any fennel so I didn't use it, and the seasoning was still good. I couldn't find a roast any smaller than 4 1/2 pounds, and 10 hours was still plenty of time to cook it thoroughly and make it tender. I followed advice here and added the potatoes with a few hours left before cooking time was up-- the only problem with that was that there was no way to fit them all down into the juice and below the roast, so they didn't cook evenly. Honestly, I'm not sure what to do about that other than just use less potatoes (the amount that will fit). I guess you have a choice of either a bunch of mushy ones or a few well cooked ones. At the end, I removed the roast and turned the cooker to high, then added a corn starch slurry after it had started boiling to thicken it up. Seasoned well with salt and pepper. This was good served with braised cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Solid but not great. The meat just isn't overly flavorful on the inside, a solid but boring roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Delicious! I added the potatoes 1.5 hours before the roast was done. When the potatoes and roast were finished cooking, I removed them from the crockpot and put foil over the platter to keep everything warm. I then turned the crockpot up to high and added some water with cornstarch to thicken - voila! Yummy gravy to serve over the meat and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Goering

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
very flavorful. For my tastes it had a bit too much sodium though. I will make it again but would probably cut the salt in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I live on the iron range and porketta is very popular here but we also do turkeyettas and beefettas using the same seasonings. it is very deliscous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
excellent flavor! very highly seasoned--probably the best prok roast i've ever made! DO be careful to add the potatoes with about 2 hours cooking time left or they'll be mush...very good mush but mush. i also thickened the sauce to gravy but totally not necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Great, easy recipe. I did purchase the porketta seasoning in bulk food section so just rubbed the pork & added beef stock. Potatoes too mushy so will do separate next time. I had to make this a day ahead of time so was cold when I cooked it. 3.3 lb roast took 8 hours. Delicious & very tender. Will do again. Lots of stock for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States