Irish Whiskey Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Very good! I marinaded mine for about 12 hours and the flavors were really good and the meat was not tough. I grilled fresh pineapple to go with this along with grilling beans. I also had some fresh mushrooms and onion in the fridge I needed to use up so I boiled the leftover marinade and then cooked with mushrooms and onions. This was a great meal and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Very, very good. I'd cut back on the Thyme just a bit but other than that I wouldn't change anything. Keep the bottle handy. For regular product quality checks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
It was just great,that i was about to eat my fingers with it yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Didn't have whiskey .. used a little red wine and it was fantastic.. Reduced and served excess marinade as a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was very good and tender, but that may have been due to the fact that something unexpected came up and the meat wound up marinating for two days. It was very tasty but next time I will add more whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Excellent! I brought this to a St. Patrick's Day party b/c I am not a big fan of Corned Beef. I too dialed down the oil to 1/3rd cup, and upped the whiskey to about 5 Tbsp. I also tenderized the steak with a needled tenderizer since I only marinated for about 4 hours. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I added about 2 T of brown sugar to this recipe and it was amazing! Definitely the best flat iron marinade I have found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Out of this world good! Meat was so flavorful and oh so tender! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is our "go-to" recipe for flat iron steaks. Thanks, Alta. This is a wonderful recipe!!! We usually buy 2 steaks, each about 1 1/4 to 1 1/2lbs, place in separate plastic bags with marinade for each and put one in the freezer for later use. Then, just thaw and throw on the grill - it's already done marinating! We've also varied the amounts of whiskey - and have used up to 2/3 cup for 2 steaks. Try adding a little honey to the marinade for a hint of sweetness. Once cooked and rested, slice the steak against the grain or it won't be tender. I usually serve this with roasted potatoes (using small red potatoes leaving the skins on, cutting in half or 4ths depending on the size, garlic powder, kocher salt, black pepper and chopped, fresh rosemary - roast @ 400 degrees ~ 20-25min on a non-stick pan). This is so yummy. Our company loved it! Oh, and if there are any leftovers, this steak is delicious on a romaine lettuce salad with tomatoes, feta cheese, thin-sliced red onions, greek olives and dressing. Heaven on a plate!! Try this steak - you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Outstanding flavor! I used bourbon, for there was no Irish whiskey in the house, and omitted the rosemary - it tends to overpower. The meat was juicy, flavorful; my husband, teenaged son & 10 yo grandson fought for the last piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States