Irish Whiskey Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I went less on the oil, more on the whiskey, and more on the garlic. Boiled the left over marinade and put mushrooms and onions in it for a steak topping. The guys are still talking about it today! Very good recipe!!! Will be making again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe was great . . . getting the Flat Iron Steak was KEY. I think next time I will reduce the oil a little bit and increase the whiskey. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
We all loved this! The marinade was so....... good. Thanks for the recipe. Tried this again using new york strip instead of flat iron steaks. Again, FANTASTIC!!!! I am not a big steak fan but this marinade is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was the best steak recipe I've ever tried. I followed the recipe as written. It was boith tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinarian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I used this marinade last night with just a few changes. Used 1/4 cup oil with 2/3 cup of the whiskey. I also added fresh herbs as I have them growing in my garden and a low sodium soy. I chopped 2 green onions and used 2 cloves minced garlic. I was in a hurry so I could not marinate for long...so I let it sit in a freezer bag for an hour at room temp. Perfection!! The meat was tender and very flavorful. The extra whiskey really gives it a buttery soft taste and you can actually taste the whiskey. I hate recipes that use so little of the liquer you never really taste it at all. This way worked best. I then took the left over marinade and used it to deglaze a pan of sauteed mushrooms and onions to make a side dish. It was awesome. Will be using this all the time now for flat iron steaks. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I think I heard "WOW!!" about 8 times from my family of 4 before I even had a chance to taste it. This is GOOD!! The steak melted in your mouth, the flavor was spot on. Per another review, I sauteed some mushrooms in butter & garlic until the mushrooms were a little brown, then added the reserved marinade & brought it to a boil for a few min. I highly recommend the mushrooms...it brought out a gourmet flair to the dish. Restaurant quality, can't wait to make it for guests, thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
The first time I ever cooked steak, I used this recipe. They were so magnificent, even my FIL - who is a big food critic :/ - had nothing but good things to say! And the only Irish whiskey I will use is Jameson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
One word....Greattt. We love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackies Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Princeton, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This turned out GREAT! Good flavors, a little spice to it but not too much, a little sweet but not too much. I also followed others' idea and cooked the marinade into a sauce with some sliced mushrooms and onions (cooked them down first, then added them to the marinade and let it boil for the duration of the steak grilling). Will have to do this again SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States