Irish Whiskey Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I went less on the oil, more on the whiskey, and more on the garlic. Boiled the left over marinade and put mushrooms and onions in it for a steak topping. The guys are still talking about it today! Very good recipe!!! Will be making again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I used this marinade last night with just a few changes. Used 1/4 cup oil with 2/3 cup of the whiskey. I also added fresh herbs as I have them growing in my garden and a low sodium soy. I chopped 2 green onions and used 2 cloves minced garlic. I was in a hurry so I could not marinate for long...so I let it sit in a freezer bag for an hour at room temp. Perfection!! The meat was tender and very flavorful. The extra whiskey really gives it a buttery soft taste and you can actually taste the whiskey. I hate recipes that use so little of the liquer you never really taste it at all. This way worked best. I then took the left over marinade and used it to deglaze a pan of sauteed mushrooms and onions to make a side dish. It was awesome. Will be using this all the time now for flat iron steaks. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe was great . . . getting the Flat Iron Steak was KEY. I think next time I will reduce the oil a little bit and increase the whiskey. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I marinated this for about 4 hours in the fridge. Unfortunately, I overcooked the meat to well done. Expecting the meat to be a little tough, I was pleasantly surprised that it was quite tender. Will make this again, but I will watch the time on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Has a bite to it! People who don't like spicy food probably won't enjoy it as much as those of us that do. Very good and different option because I was looking for something different from sweet-salty or tex-mex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I loved this and have made it twice. The changes I made were to use a lot more whiskey, marinade it for a day or two, and to use the oven (since a grill was not available.) I cooked it at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. I also used Flank Steak since I did not have Flat Iron available. I am hoping to try this with Flat Iron the next time I cook it. Everyone loved this, I used it for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danagirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
the only reason this get four stars is my fault made it for a gathering that never happened let the steaks sit for a few days the marinade work great meat melted in your mouth but the spice was too much for a four day sit kids loved it just a little to spicy my fault can't wait to try it on a more planned event
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Tierney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I think I heard "WOW!!" about 8 times from my family of 4 before I even had a chance to taste it. This is GOOD!! The steak melted in your mouth, the flavor was spot on. Per another review, I sauteed some mushrooms in butter & garlic until the mushrooms were a little brown, then added the reserved marinade & brought it to a boil for a few min. I highly recommend the mushrooms...it brought out a gourmet flair to the dish. Restaurant quality, can't wait to make it for guests, thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is our "go-to" recipe for flat iron steaks. Thanks, Alta. This is a wonderful recipe!!! We usually buy 2 steaks, each about 1 1/4 to 1 1/2lbs, place in separate plastic bags with marinade for each and put one in the freezer for later use. Then, just thaw and throw on the grill - it's already done marinating! We've also varied the amounts of whiskey - and have used up to 2/3 cup for 2 steaks. Try adding a little honey to the marinade for a hint of sweetness. Once cooked and rested, slice the steak against the grain or it won't be tender. I usually serve this with roasted potatoes (using small red potatoes leaving the skins on, cutting in half or 4ths depending on the size, garlic powder, kocher salt, black pepper and chopped, fresh rosemary - roast @ 400 degrees ~ 20-25min on a non-stick pan). This is so yummy. Our company loved it! Oh, and if there are any leftovers, this steak is delicious on a romaine lettuce salad with tomatoes, feta cheese, thin-sliced red onions, greek olives and dressing. Heaven on a plate!! Try this steak - you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States