Irish Whiskey Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I went less on the oil, more on the whiskey, and more on the garlic. Boiled the left over marinade and put mushrooms and onions in it for a steak topping. The guys are still talking about it today! Very good recipe!!! Will be making again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe was great . . . getting the Flat Iron Steak was KEY. I think next time I will reduce the oil a little bit and increase the whiskey. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
the only reason this get four stars is my fault made it for a gathering that never happened let the steaks sit for a few days the marinade work great meat melted in your mouth but the spice was too much for a four day sit kids loved it just a little to spicy my fault can't wait to try it on a more planned event
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
We all loved this! The marinade was so....... good. Thanks for the recipe. Tried this again using new york strip instead of flat iron steaks. Again, FANTASTIC!!!! I am not a big steak fan but this marinade is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I'm sure this is more stars had I been able to marinate the steak longer. I used 5 spoonfuls of olive oil, (canadian) whiskey, and soy sauce. I pan-fried for 4 minutes on each side for a medium steak -- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sovanny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I marinated this for about 4 hours in the fridge. Unfortunately, I overcooked the meat to well done. Expecting the meat to be a little tough, I was pleasantly surprised that it was quite tender. Will make this again, but I will watch the time on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was the best steak recipe I've ever tried. I followed the recipe as written. It was boith tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinarian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I used this marinade last night with just a few changes. Used 1/4 cup oil with 2/3 cup of the whiskey. I also added fresh herbs as I have them growing in my garden and a low sodium soy. I chopped 2 green onions and used 2 cloves minced garlic. I was in a hurry so I could not marinate for long...so I let it sit in a freezer bag for an hour at room temp. Perfection!! The meat was tender and very flavorful. The extra whiskey really gives it a buttery soft taste and you can actually taste the whiskey. I hate recipes that use so little of the liquer you never really taste it at all. This way worked best. I then took the left over marinade and used it to deglaze a pan of sauteed mushrooms and onions to make a side dish. It was awesome. Will be using this all the time now for flat iron steaks. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I think I heard "WOW!!" about 8 times from my family of 4 before I even had a chance to taste it. This is GOOD!! The steak melted in your mouth, the flavor was spot on. Per another review, I sauteed some mushrooms in butter & garlic until the mushrooms were a little brown, then added the reserved marinade & brought it to a boil for a few min. I highly recommend the mushrooms...it brought out a gourmet flair to the dish. Restaurant quality, can't wait to make it for guests, thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
It was O.K., I would probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States