Irish Whiskey Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I used this marinade last night with just a few changes. Used 1/4 cup oil with 2/3 cup of the whiskey. I also added fresh herbs as I have them growing in my garden and a low sodium soy. I chopped 2 green onions and used 2 cloves minced garlic. I was in a hurry so I could not marinate for long...so I let it sit in a freezer bag for an hour at room temp. Perfection!! The meat was tender and very flavorful. The extra whiskey really gives it a buttery soft taste and you can actually taste the whiskey. I hate recipes that use so little of the liquer you never really taste it at all. This way worked best. I then took the left over marinade and used it to deglaze a pan of sauteed mushrooms and onions to make a side dish. It was awesome. Will be using this all the time now for flat iron steaks. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was the best steak recipe I've ever tried. I followed the recipe as written. It was boith tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Culinarian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I marinated this for about 4 hours in the fridge. Unfortunately, I overcooked the meat to well done. Expecting the meat to be a little tough, I was pleasantly surprised that it was quite tender. Will make this again, but I will watch the time on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I'm sure this is more stars had I been able to marinate the steak longer. I used 5 spoonfuls of olive oil, (canadian) whiskey, and soy sauce. I pan-fried for 4 minutes on each side for a medium steak -- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sovanny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
We all loved this! The marinade was so....... good. Thanks for the recipe. Tried this again using new york strip instead of flat iron steaks. Again, FANTASTIC!!!! I am not a big steak fan but this marinade is incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
the only reason this get four stars is my fault made it for a gathering that never happened let the steaks sit for a few days the marinade work great meat melted in your mouth but the spice was too much for a four day sit kids loved it just a little to spicy my fault can't wait to try it on a more planned event
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Tierney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe was great . . . getting the Flat Iron Steak was KEY. I think next time I will reduce the oil a little bit and increase the whiskey. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I went less on the oil, more on the whiskey, and more on the garlic. Boiled the left over marinade and put mushrooms and onions in it for a steak topping. The guys are still talking about it today! Very good recipe!!! Will be making again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Flap Steak

See how to grill a thin, inexpensive cut of beef for salads, sandwiches, & tacos.

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Teriyaki Flank Steak

See how to make a tasty teriyaki marinade for grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States