Irish Whiskey Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This turned out to be a cookie recipe and not a cake. Also, it was gooey, so I cooked it for 60 minutes, still too gooey, then put it back in for another 15 minutes and it came out a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesleyann Pedro
Photo by Lucy Shakeshaft
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Just made this cake, smells amazing! It was easy to prepare aswell. I was worried about the cookie dough texture until I folded in the egg whites which made the batter smooth. I won't be doing the glaze this time as I need to transport it to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy Shakeshaft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I LOVE this cake. Every St. Patrick's day my husband anticipates the corned beef, etc.; this cake is my reward for making that vile stuff for him. As to the cake, I make it exactly as written. Having made this several years, I have noticed that there is a significant taste difference depending on the quality of whiskey used. This year I used Redbreast pot distilled whiskey (aged 12 years), and it was out of this world (albeit a bit pricey - if you like whiskey, though, it's absolutely worth it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Really tasty! I added dried currants as I didn't have quite enough golden raisins. I think next time I'd soak them in a shallow dish, rather than a bowl, for better soaking. I added more Whiskey per the suggestions. Nice! I forgot to top with powdered sugar, oops! That would have helped with presentation. I poked holes in the cake with a toothpick prior to drizzling with the glaze (which I made with half the recommended sugar). That helped with moistness. The cake goes nicely with a bit of whipped cream, and tastes great the next day too, for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
most excellent. i would add alittle more whiskey. the beverage best for this dish is a liter of rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Made this cake yesterday and was not impressed. The batter wa as thick as cookie dough and it was a very dry cake. Had to bake longer because it was so thick. I had thought of using a bigger pan when I was preparing this, but after making it, I have just decided not to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
Nice cake not too overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
We loved like cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
My St. Patrick's Day party guests loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Beer Cupcakes with Whiskey Filling

Stout in the batter, whiskey in the chocolate filling, Irish cream in the icing!

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States