Irish Tea Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2001
Lovely recipe. Nice cake to go with a good cup-a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Very good cake! Everyone thought it was shortcake for the strawberries. We were in a hurry--we used an electric mixer, and the cake was done within an hour. We doubled the recipe and used two nonstick pans-one greased with pam, one ungreased. Only the one in the greased pan came out cleanly. Make sure your pans are very well greased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Great cake even though you add a whole stick of butter! Good with bitter beverages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Delicious and moist!! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This is a great recipe and comes out soft and fluffy...hmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICHUSHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cochin, Kerala, India
Living In: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Very yummy and easy to make. So moist the powder sugar sifted on top disappeared. Enjoyed very much by all. Thank you Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I was looking for an Irish dessert to bring to a potluck. This far exceeded my expectations. It was perfectly moist, amazingly easy, and is made with on-hand ingredients. This is the perfect treat to make in a pinch or for any reason at all. You may as well make two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
two thumbs way up! tastes like a fluffy sugar cookie, as I would have suspected looking at the ingredients. It's dense, not too sweet, and really tastes like a sugar cookie! Would be great with some fresh fruit. EASY to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Very tasty, my first cake from scratch and even though I didn't cook it quite enough and the middle fell, it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevensville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Loved it! Similar to a sponge or crumb cake. Delicious even using margarine instead of butter. Make sure to beat the sugar/butter (or margarine) for a long time to incorporate air - it makes the cake come out light and fluffy (do not beat to much after adding flour though). Added only 1 Tb more milk. My husband said he "couldn't stop eating it." It is plenty sweet - sweetness just right. Baked it in a sprayed 8" sq glass pan - still gooey at 30 mins so I baked it 10 mins more (40 mins total). Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States