Irish Tea Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Very good cake! Everyone thought it was shortcake for the strawberries. We were in a hurry--we used an electric mixer, and the cake was done within an hour. We doubled the recipe and used two nonstick pans-one greased with pam, one ungreased. Only the one in the greased pan came out cleanly. Make sure your pans are very well greased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Loved it! Similar to a sponge or crumb cake. Delicious even using margarine instead of butter. Make sure to beat the sugar/butter (or margarine) for a long time to incorporate air - it makes the cake come out light and fluffy (do not beat to much after adding flour though). Added only 1 Tb more milk. My husband said he "couldn't stop eating it." It is plenty sweet - sweetness just right. Baked it in a sprayed 8" sq glass pan - still gooey at 30 mins so I baked it 10 mins more (40 mins total). Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
A very good cake to enjoy with coffee or tea. A word of warning: this cake needs parchment paper lining. I didn't use it the first time and it stuck to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is a great recipe- although when I was making it I "accidentally" added an extra 1 cup of milk! I don't regret that mistake; every time I make this cake I add an extra cup of milk. It makes it very moist and very delicious! I hope this helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kama Derksen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. It makes a nice sized cake for snacking or a small party. It isn't too sweet which is wonderful for tea & coffee. Its texture is similar to pound cake, but I wouldn't go so far as to state that it's "very dry & dense"...just a slightly heavier texture than your standard cake. I imagine it would turn out badly if it were overmixed -- I stirred in the flour & milk by hand so that wouldn't happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Excellent St Patty's Day finish! This cake was moist, delicious and stayed that way for a few days. Just sweet enough to enhance your tea and leave a nice aftertaste. Before sprinkling on the confectioner's sugar, my wife put a little cinnamon-sugar on top! I recommend this one and we'll be making it again. If you're adventurous, poke some holes in the top of your slice with toothpicks and then douse it with some Bailey's Irish Cream!! It will soak right into the holes. Ohhh Yummmmmayy!! (-:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
this was very tasty, although a tad bit "dry". i topped it with sliced strawberries and chocolate sauce. i think the "dryness" of the cake is not necessarily a downfall, as it will stand up wonderfully under juicy fruits, or sauces without becoming soggy. will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Delicious and moist!! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I was looking for an Irish dessert to bring to a potluck. This far exceeded my expectations. It was perfectly moist, amazingly easy, and is made with on-hand ingredients. This is the perfect treat to make in a pinch or for any reason at all. You may as well make two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Simple and tasty. Great with vanilla or dulce de leche ice cream AND a cup of Irish cream coffee! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States