Irish Tea Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Mahsa
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
It is a good cake.It is very good with milk or tea but abit dry by itself. UPDATE: I made it again last night. I didn't have enough vanilla, so I put 1/2 teaspoon vanila and 1 teaspoon almond extract. It tasted really good, even better than the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tustin Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
It didn't rise right for me, and it needed something- maybe a chocolate sauce of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Very tasty, especially with coffee or tea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I really like this cake! I thought it was a little dry, but very tastey. I think it is supposed to be on the dry side? It was really good with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenleaf, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this in the middle of the night as a surprise to my Irish husband for St. Patty's day breakfast. Not only did he love it so did my kids. I used whole wheat flour and Splenda as I am diabetic. It turned out wonderful! It was easy enough to make it at midnight even! To tone down the flavor of the whole wheat flour i added a little cinnamon. Thank you for sharing this with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Wow...I don't know what I did wrong. I doubled the recipe to make a 9X13 cake but the middle fell completely. It was done around the edges and raw in the middle. I was excited about making a cake from "scratch" but it ended up a complete waste of ingredients. To make myself feel better I baked a "box" cake and it turned out fine. I am wondering if it had something to do with being at a high altitude. Any suggestions out there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is an awesome cake - plain with vanilla ice cream is how we tried it out, but I'm looking forward to drown it in Irish cream! I actually replaced baking powder with baking soda, purely by mistake, and it still survived the roommate review board! (That was when it was drowned in ice cream - I don't advise the soda!) I hope to make it the right way next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This cake was perfect! I had to add a bit of extra milk to the batter but that was the only modification. It was even better the next day. Great alone but could be a great accompaniment with fruit. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I made this for my kids school function where you had to bring an ethnic dish. The Irish folks never heard of it (including my Dad who is from Ireland!) It is simple to make and comes out great! I make it for bake sales for something different beyond cupcakes and brownies. Make sure it is cool before adding powdered sugar. It still will taste good, but the appearance isn't as nice. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Not too sweet. Perfect with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States