Irish Tea Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Really quick and easy. Used a tablespoon more of milk, as directed. Left off the confectioner's sugar. and topped with whipped cream and strawberries just before serving, as other reviewers suggested - it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I think this was wonderful. The name describes it well as it's perfect to eat with my afternoon cup of tea. It's a bit sweet to eat on its own. I had no trouble with it rising, and I didn't find it dry in the least. I drizzled a design in chocolate on the serving plate and dusted a pretty design on top of the cake with powdered sugar. It looked as pretty to serve as it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
The flavor is wonderful, and it is a nice firm cake. A bit too crumbly for me, but I will make it again and try adding even more milk to the batter. Overall, this was enjoyable with a hot cup of coffee. I added extra vanilla to mask the cornbread taste, which some cakes have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Easy to make and enjoy, it did a great job creating a special tea time memory with my daughter, place some fresh fruit on top and enjoy some tea..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerestlygirl
Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
My family absolutely adores this recipe! Every time we have an occasion, we make this cake. We make a delicious berry sauce to go with it - just raspberries, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, "43" licquor, and sugar. It's to die for, especially when served with BlueBell Vanilla Bean Ice Cream. Yum! Thanks, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChezMauraKate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I loved this recipe! I only signed up to be a member of this site to say it! I made one change and that was that I made this recipe in a muffin tin. I shortened the cook time to 25 minutes and then topped it with fresh strawberries and black berries in a glaze. (Fresh whipped cream to top of course).. Oh my.. I should have made a double batch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is one of my favourite cake recipes. Super simple and delicious. The second time I made it, I was out of vanilla, so I substituted almond flavouring instead, and it was still awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Liberal, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This is very moist and soft . I added an extra half cup of Milk and i also added some chopped apple . It turned out beautiful .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Perfect! I loved this cake, it was great. Top with cinnamon sugar.You may need to add a tablespoon or 2 of milk though. It makes it much more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Great recipe! I made this for St. Patrick's Day this year and served it with sweet cream and strawberries- best cake I've made! I had some egg whites left over from making mousse and didn't want to just toss the perfectly good egg whites- so I whipped to them into soft peaks and folded them into the batter. I noticed some reviewers commenting that they had found the cake heavy or dense- try folding in some soft peak whipped egg whites. End result was light and spongy- perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States