Irish Tea Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Mine sank in the middle; I was left with a fully risen ring around the edge and a one inch high center. I have no clue what went wrong, as I thought I followed the recipe exactly. Oh well it still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dandy
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Easy and delicious. I greased and floured the pan and also lined the bottom with parchment. I mixed the wet ingredients well, but only lightly combined the dry with the wet and the cake came out very moist and not too heavy or dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Just wonderful, really is a keeper. It turned out moist wth crisp edges. I opted to use almond flavoring and slivered almonds. FIVE Stars. Thank you , thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
absolutely loved this recipe. quick make for a rainy day when the kids want something sweet to snack on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcie Games

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Easy to make. However it didn't taste as good as we thought it would. We substituted oil for the butter and that might be what made it taste not so good. And yes everyone is right use wax paper with oil spray or parchment paper on the pan because it does stick even on a non-stick pan. We iced ours with 2 cups of confectioners sugar and the juice of two limes which I think helped with the overall taste of the cake. Next time I think I will do what another reviewer did and use strawberry jam inbetween layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I've made this time after time and it *always* turns out..I like to serve it with lemon curd or, as I'm living in Germany, a smooth vanilla sauce with fresh berries and mint leaf garnish (or candied lemon slices as well) is a wonderful addition in the spring/summertime months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kuechendrache

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Really good cake... I want to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisajulie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My daughter made this for a multicultural day for Ireland. This is now a keeper for St. Patty's Day! (We may even add a few green food coloring drops for a festive look!) The whole family and classmates loved it! Beat the butter and sugar for awhile before adding the flour. In our oven, 30 minutes was a perfect bake time. Simple, yet delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This is a simple yet delicious cake. I was surprised at how good it was for being such a simple recipe. Definitely recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Really quick and easy. Used a tablespoon more of milk, as directed. Left off the confectioner's sugar. and topped with whipped cream and strawberries just before serving, as other reviewers suggested - it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States