Irish Tea Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I've made this time after time and it *always* turns out..I like to serve it with lemon curd or, as I'm living in Germany, a smooth vanilla sauce with fresh berries and mint leaf garnish (or candied lemon slices as well) is a wonderful addition in the spring/summertime months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kuechendrache

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Really good cake... I want to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisajulie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My daughter made this for a multicultural day for Ireland. This is now a keeper for St. Patty's Day! (We may even add a few green food coloring drops for a festive look!) The whole family and classmates loved it! Beat the butter and sugar for awhile before adding the flour. In our oven, 30 minutes was a perfect bake time. Simple, yet delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This is a simple yet delicious cake. I was surprised at how good it was for being such a simple recipe. Definitely recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Really quick and easy. Used a tablespoon more of milk, as directed. Left off the confectioner's sugar. and topped with whipped cream and strawberries just before serving, as other reviewers suggested - it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I think this was wonderful. The name describes it well as it's perfect to eat with my afternoon cup of tea. It's a bit sweet to eat on its own. I had no trouble with it rising, and I didn't find it dry in the least. I drizzled a design in chocolate on the serving plate and dusted a pretty design on top of the cake with powdered sugar. It looked as pretty to serve as it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
The flavor is wonderful, and it is a nice firm cake. A bit too crumbly for me, but I will make it again and try adding even more milk to the batter. Overall, this was enjoyable with a hot cup of coffee. I added extra vanilla to mask the cornbread taste, which some cakes have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oceanside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Easy to make and enjoy, it did a great job creating a special tea time memory with my daughter, place some fresh fruit on top and enjoy some tea..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerestlygirl
Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
My family absolutely adores this recipe! Every time we have an occasion, we make this cake. We make a delicious berry sauce to go with it - just raspberries, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, "43" licquor, and sugar. It's to die for, especially when served with BlueBell Vanilla Bean Ice Cream. Yum! Thanks, Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChezMauraKate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I loved this recipe! I only signed up to be a member of this site to say it! I made one change and that was that I made this recipe in a muffin tin. I shortened the cook time to 25 minutes and then topped it with fresh strawberries and black berries in a glaze. (Fresh whipped cream to top of course).. Oh my.. I should have made a double batch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States