Irish Tea Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
two thumbs way up! tastes like a fluffy sugar cookie, as I would have suspected looking at the ingredients. It's dense, not too sweet, and really tastes like a sugar cookie! Would be great with some fresh fruit. EASY to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I was looking for an Irish dessert to bring to a potluck. This far exceeded my expectations. It was perfectly moist, amazingly easy, and is made with on-hand ingredients. This is the perfect treat to make in a pinch or for any reason at all. You may as well make two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Very good and so easy to make. My son ate most of it before it cooled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Very yummy and easy to make. So moist the powder sugar sifted on top disappeared. Enjoyed very much by all. Thank you Cindy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. It makes a nice sized cake for snacking or a small party. It isn't too sweet which is wonderful for tea & coffee. Its texture is similar to pound cake, but I wouldn't go so far as to state that it's "very dry & dense"...just a slightly heavier texture than your standard cake. I imagine it would turn out badly if it were overmixed -- I stirred in the flour & milk by hand so that wouldn't happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
this was very tasty, although a tad bit "dry". i topped it with sliced strawberries and chocolate sauce. i think the "dryness" of the cake is not necessarily a downfall, as it will stand up wonderfully under juicy fruits, or sauces without becoming soggy. will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This is a great recipe and comes out soft and fluffy...hmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICHUSHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cochin, Kerala, India
Living In: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Delicious and moist!! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Great cake even though you add a whole stick of butter! Good with bitter beverages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Very good cake! Everyone thought it was shortcake for the strawberries. We were in a hurry--we used an electric mixer, and the cake was done within an hour. We doubled the recipe and used two nonstick pans-one greased with pam, one ungreased. Only the one in the greased pan came out cleanly. Make sure your pans are very well greased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States