Irish Tea Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Wow...I don't know what I did wrong. I doubled the recipe to make a 9X13 cake but the middle fell completely. It was done around the edges and raw in the middle. I was excited about making a cake from "scratch" but it ended up a complete waste of ingredients. To make myself feel better I baked a "box" cake and it turned out fine. I am wondering if it had something to do with being at a high altitude. Any suggestions out there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is an awesome cake - plain with vanilla ice cream is how we tried it out, but I'm looking forward to drown it in Irish cream! I actually replaced baking powder with baking soda, purely by mistake, and it still survived the roommate review board! (That was when it was drowned in ice cream - I don't advise the soda!) I hope to make it the right way next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This cake was perfect! I had to add a bit of extra milk to the batter but that was the only modification. It was even better the next day. Great alone but could be a great accompaniment with fruit. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I made this for my kids school function where you had to bring an ethnic dish. The Irish folks never heard of it (including my Dad who is from Ireland!) It is simple to make and comes out great! I make it for bake sales for something different beyond cupcakes and brownies. Make sure it is cool before adding powdered sugar. It still will taste good, but the appearance isn't as nice. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Not too sweet. Perfect with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Simple and tasty. Great with vanilla or dulce de leche ice cream AND a cup of Irish cream coffee! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I made this at the nursing home where I work- for 50 servings and used margerine and the powdered sugar/cinnomon topping- it worked out great! (although the diabetics were only allowed a very small piece) Everyone was asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Excellent St Patty's Day finish! This cake was moist, delicious and stayed that way for a few days. Just sweet enough to enhance your tea and leave a nice aftertaste. Before sprinkling on the confectioner's sugar, my wife put a little cinnamon-sugar on top! I recommend this one and we'll be making it again. If you're adventurous, poke some holes in the top of your slice with toothpicks and then douse it with some Bailey's Irish Cream!! It will soak right into the holes. Ohhh Yummmmmayy!! (-:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was very nice. I added some green food colouring to the batter as I made it for St. Patricks day. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This cake was so easy to make. It turned out beautifully. I wasn't too sweet so I was able to serve it with Irish bananas (on this site) and vanilla ice cream. My husband asked me if I made the cake or bought it! Can't get better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States