Irish-Style Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I used new potatoes instead of baking and left out the celery and left the recipe with my husband to prepare. Not only was it foolproof to prep and cook, but the flavour of the lamb really came through. This is a basic recipe and great - healthy and very good. Thanks for sharing! My husband insists on making it again (which is fantastic in my books!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This got 5 stars from my whole family. We loved it! I used 2 lbs. lamb, 2 lbs. red potatoes, about 7 multicolored organic carrots, 2 c. beef broth, the parsley, salt and black pepper. Eight hours on low in the slow cooker, and I served it with the Light Wheat Rolls from this website that I had frozen from last weekend. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is the very best stew! It is so good! It is a perfect marriage of flavors and the lamb is so tender and the flavor is so mild, everything is perfection! This will make you feel all warm and fuzzy. A must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I typically make another lamb stew recipe that has red wine, zucchini, tomatoes, fennel, horseradish and chiles. This recipe looks very basic next to it so I was a little skeptical that this would be as satisfying. It was great (the parsley was key for us). This stew has a short ingredient list, was a snap to prep and has a simple flavor that hits the spot. It's a great one to make ahead as the flavor is better the next day. Now I have two great lamb stew recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made this last night and followed the recipe exactly. It was wonderful. My husband's mom used to make this when he was growing up and he loved it. He said it was the same thing and it was all gone. Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Absolutely delicious. As I read in other reviews, I added some rosemary. Actually, I accidentally dumped quite a bit in there. It was SUPER strong. Next time I will pinch it! But this recipe is great and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
It turned out really well. I added a rutabaga and three carrots instead of only one. I skipped the celery. I also added a pinch of caraway and celery seeds. I let the lamb marinate with about a Tbsp olive oil, two sprigs rosemary, and two cloves garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is a delicious stew. I bought lamb cubes at the local farm market, and removed much of the fat before preparing the stew. I sauteed the lamb cubes for a few minutes just to brown, then prepared the recipe as indicated (without the celery and parsley - didn't have either), and put all ingredients in a crock pot to cook for 8 hours on low. An hour before serving I made a slurry of flour and water, and stirred it into the juice of the stew, re-covered the pot and let it thicken slightly. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Delicious! Used leftover leg of lamb from Easter Dinner. Followed the recipe with a little extra seasoning... pressed garlic and rosemary. Also added some cornstarch to the beef broth as another review had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made this with leftover lamb meat. It was an easy, tasty way to use the leftover, that wouldn't make it tough. I was working that day, so I just prepped the stew and had a family member put it in the oven for two hours. Served up with some crusty rolls, it made for a nice simple winter meal. It was almost all gone before I even got any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States