Irish-Style Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
It turned out really well. I added a rutabaga and three carrots instead of only one. I skipped the celery. I also added a pinch of caraway and celery seeds. I let the lamb marinate with about a Tbsp olive oil, two sprigs rosemary, and two cloves garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I cooked this as instructed, but I wouldn't put so salt and pepper on every layer. Instead I would put it as"salt and pepper to taste."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I made this last night for my husband and we absolutely loved it! Thanks Michelle for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This turned out well - the only change was that I used a lamb stock cube not beef and I did render off some of the fat before placing in the crock pot. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Absolutely delicious. As I read in other reviews, I added some rosemary. Actually, I accidentally dumped quite a bit in there. It was SUPER strong. Next time I will pinch it! But this recipe is great and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made this last night and followed the recipe exactly. It was wonderful. My husband's mom used to make this when he was growing up and he loved it. He said it was the same thing and it was all gone. Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I typically make another lamb stew recipe that has red wine, zucchini, tomatoes, fennel, horseradish and chiles. This recipe looks very basic next to it so I was a little skeptical that this would be as satisfying. It was great (the parsley was key for us). This stew has a short ingredient list, was a snap to prep and has a simple flavor that hits the spot. It's a great one to make ahead as the flavor is better the next day. Now I have two great lamb stew recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is the very best stew! It is so good! It is a perfect marriage of flavors and the lamb is so tender and the flavor is so mild, everything is perfection! This will make you feel all warm and fuzzy. A must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
My husband likes to go to the farmer's market on Saturday mornings and he's always bringing home something out of the ordinary. This time it was lamb stew meat. I was never exposed to any kind of meat except beef, chicken and pork when I was growing up and never learned how to prepare other meats so I was very glad to find this recipe on the site. It was very easy to prepare with basic ingredients I already had on hand and has a nice flavor. I've made it twice now exactly by the recipe and it turned out perfect both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was my first attempt at making lamb stew. I followed the advice of others and used new potatoes and cooked it in the crock pot all day. Paired with the Irresistible Irish Soda Bread, it was a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States