Irish-Style Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was my first attempt at making lamb stew. I followed the advice of others and used new potatoes and cooked it in the crock pot all day. Paired with the Irresistible Irish Soda Bread, it was a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I tried this recipe for an Irish themed party and everyone liked it. I thought the lamb flavor in it was really strong though and kind of overpowers the other flavors in the stew. So if you really enjoy that flavor then this is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSADAISY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This got 5 stars from my whole family. We loved it! I used 2 lbs. lamb, 2 lbs. red potatoes, about 7 multicolored organic carrots, 2 c. beef broth, the parsley, salt and black pepper. Eight hours on low in the slow cooker, and I served it with the Light Wheat Rolls from this website that I had frozen from last weekend. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Because other reviewers found this bland, I added caraway seeds, celery salt, and extra parsley and carrots. It was good though not phenomenal. It is easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was a big hit at a recent party. The only change I would make would be to thicken the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I used pork instead of lamb. I wasn't crazy about the meat- the beef broth made me crave beef instead of a lighter meat. The juices and the veggies came out great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clinton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I used new potatoes instead of baking and left out the celery and left the recipe with my husband to prepare. Not only was it foolproof to prep and cook, but the flavour of the lamb really came through. This is a basic recipe and great - healthy and very good. Thanks for sharing! My husband insists on making it again (which is fantastic in my books!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
It was a little bland. I added more salt after it was finished. I made this with the Irresistible Irish Soda Bread from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States