Irish-Style Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
We made this for people who either didn't like lamb or never had lamb. Every person who left said they LOVE lamb now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menchito113

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Amazing!Everyone in the family loved this recipe! I used the pressure cooker because I was short on time. It was absolutely perfect! Succelent chunks of lamb in an outstanding stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
WOW! I grabbed this recipe just trying to mix up my usual routine. Figured lamb would be a nice switch. I put it in the crockpot and headed to work. My husband sent me a text: "stew's AWESOME!". My daughter and her friend asked for seconds! I had mine after work and the lamb was so tender and yummy!!!!! Two thumbs up:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dundas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made this with leftover lamb meat. It was an easy, tasty way to use the leftover, that wouldn't make it tough. I was working that day, so I just prepped the stew and had a family member put it in the oven for two hours. Served up with some crusty rolls, it made for a nice simple winter meal. It was almost all gone before I even got any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Delicious! Used leftover leg of lamb from Easter Dinner. Followed the recipe with a little extra seasoning... pressed garlic and rosemary. Also added some cornstarch to the beef broth as another review had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Very tasty! I took folks' advice and threw in some rosemary, didn't salt every layer, and thickened the broth with some cornstarch before throwing it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is simple and WONDERFUL just as it is! I made sure to cook it with the bones and just removed them before I served it to make for a full flavored, protein packed stew. Tasty and tender. Can't wait to make it again. I won't change a single thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Sorry but this lacked flavour even with the additions I made below. I recommend only using 13 ounces of broth & even more spices then I used. I won't be making this again as I prefer my Old Fashioned Beef Stew from Better Homes & Gardens. Here's what I did: I used lamb shoulder in 2" cubes, which was very tender. I increased the carrots to 2 & 1/2 & added 1 parsnip. I used 1/2 of a large onion (6 ounced diced) in addition to the sauteed onion below. I added 1/2 teaspoon dry rosemary, 1/2 tablespoon Italian seasoning, more salt & fresh ground pepper. In dutch oven, I sauteed 1/2 of a large onion (6 ounces chopped) in 1/2 tablespoon each of butter & olive oil over med. heat, till translucent. I then added 3/4 teaspoon chopped garlic from jar & sauted it just until garlic started to smell. I added the lamb & browned it for 3 minutes. 15 minutes before serving, I removed ½ cup of broth & mixed with 2 tablespoons cornstarch, to make gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
The only thing missing is the garlic-at least 2-3 cloves (or more, depending on size of cloves).Garlic is essential to any lamb dish. Otherwise this is a perfect lamb stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is a delicious stew. I bought lamb cubes at the local farm market, and removed much of the fat before preparing the stew. I sauteed the lamb cubes for a few minutes just to brown, then prepared the recipe as indicated (without the celery and parsley - didn't have either), and put all ingredients in a crock pot to cook for 8 hours on low. An hour before serving I made a slurry of flour and water, and stirred it into the juice of the stew, re-covered the pot and let it thicken slightly. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States