Irish-Style Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Amazing!Everyone in the family loved this recipe! I used the pressure cooker because I was short on time. It was absolutely perfect! Succelent chunks of lamb in an outstanding stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
WOW! I grabbed this recipe just trying to mix up my usual routine. Figured lamb would be a nice switch. I put it in the crockpot and headed to work. My husband sent me a text: "stew's AWESOME!". My daughter and her friend asked for seconds! I had mine after work and the lamb was so tender and yummy!!!!! Two thumbs up:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dundas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made this with leftover lamb meat. It was an easy, tasty way to use the leftover, that wouldn't make it tough. I was working that day, so I just prepped the stew and had a family member put it in the oven for two hours. Served up with some crusty rolls, it made for a nice simple winter meal. It was almost all gone before I even got any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Delicious! Used leftover leg of lamb from Easter Dinner. Followed the recipe with a little extra seasoning... pressed garlic and rosemary. Also added some cornstarch to the beef broth as another review had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Very tasty! I took folks' advice and threw in some rosemary, didn't salt every layer, and thickened the broth with some cornstarch before throwing it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is simple and WONDERFUL just as it is! I made sure to cook it with the bones and just removed them before I served it to make for a full flavored, protein packed stew. Tasty and tender. Can't wait to make it again. I won't change a single thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Sorry but this lacked flavour even with the additions I made below. I recommend only using 13 ounces of broth & even more spices then I used. I won't be making this again as I prefer my Old Fashioned Beef Stew from Better Homes & Gardens. Here's what I did: I used lamb shoulder in 2" cubes, which was very tender. I increased the carrots to 2 & 1/2 & added 1 parsnip. I used 1/2 of a large onion (6 ounced diced) in addition to the sauteed onion below. I added 1/2 teaspoon dry rosemary, 1/2 tablespoon Italian seasoning, more salt & fresh ground pepper. In dutch oven, I sauteed 1/2 of a large onion (6 ounces chopped) in 1/2 tablespoon each of butter & olive oil over med. heat, till translucent. I then added 3/4 teaspoon chopped garlic from jar & sauted it just until garlic started to smell. I added the lamb & browned it for 3 minutes. 15 minutes before serving, I removed ½ cup of broth & mixed with 2 tablespoons cornstarch, to make gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
The only thing missing is the garlic-at least 2-3 cloves (or more, depending on size of cloves).Garlic is essential to any lamb dish. Otherwise this is a perfect lamb stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is a delicious stew. I bought lamb cubes at the local farm market, and removed much of the fat before preparing the stew. I sauteed the lamb cubes for a few minutes just to brown, then prepared the recipe as indicated (without the celery and parsley - didn't have either), and put all ingredients in a crock pot to cook for 8 hours on low. An hour before serving I made a slurry of flour and water, and stirred it into the juice of the stew, re-covered the pot and let it thicken slightly. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
It turned out really well. I added a rutabaga and three carrots instead of only one. I skipped the celery. I also added a pinch of caraway and celery seeds. I let the lamb marinate with about a Tbsp olive oil, two sprigs rosemary, and two cloves garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States