Irish-Style Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tresdada
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Made this recipe in the crock pot and it turned out amazing..... My whole family loved it! I cooked it on high for 6 hours. The meat was insanely tender and so good!! Great recipe for a first timer of making lamb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tresdada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Nice and easy. I would add an extra 1/2 lb of lamb stew meat next time, as it was just enough for 4 smallish appetites, and there was a lot of liquid as well. I added some dried dill and rosemary, but agree with other reviewers that the fresh parsley is a must. I also substituted 1/2 cup of beef broth with 1/2 cup of Guiness stout. I would also add extra carrot as one was not enough. We ate this with Colcannon and Irish soda bread for St. Patrick's Day. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In-a-Pickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I've made this twice/ It's EXCELLENT as it is, but I added a dash of red wine to the beef stock first time...GREAT recipes here most of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Delicious! I cooked on High for 4 hours and added a sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Thought it was a bit boring the first time. Did some adjustment the 2nd time. Used red small potaoes (whole). Dredged the lamb cubes in flour, salt and pepper and browned in Canola oil in the bottom of the cast iron casserole. Added 1 tsp thyme, 2 tsp oregano 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes. To the beef broth I added 1 tbl of tomato paste and the rest of the flour and salt and fresh ground pepper from the dredged lamb cubes. 30 minutes before finished I added 2 cups of baby bella mushrooms (sliced) and the fresh parsley and a can of dark beer. Removed the lid for 15 minutes in the oven to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This stew is solid fare and so stupid-easy to make! I baked it the two hours and then for another 45 minutes because while the potatoes were cooked through the onions weren't wilted enough. Suggestions and modifications: I halved the potato and doubled the carrots, and added an extra stalk of celery (three for a doubled recipe). Even with those proportions it has plenty of potato. My only suggestion is not to go easy on the salt or pepper - perhaps because I used low-sodium broth but I needed a lot of both spices to make up for it - also a bit of extra parsley and some white pepper didn't hurt. Love that you just add each item as you chop it into the pan - no prep bowls needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I would give this a 4.5. Easy to put together. Used low sodium beef stock and wonderful lamb, we enjoyed the meal very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
So good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I loved this it was perfect for a chilly day really warms the tummy.... dont forget to scrub your potatoes realllly well before adding them to your stew, just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zairerose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I make this every St. Patrick's Day. Sometimes I use a beef bouillon and add wine as the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

Lamb Tagine

Lamb is stewed in Moroccan spices until moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States