Irish-Style Lamb Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This got 5 stars from my whole family. We loved it! I used 2 lbs. lamb, 2 lbs. red potatoes, about 7 multicolored organic carrots, 2 c. beef broth, the parsley, salt and black pepper. Eight hours on low in the slow cooker, and I served it with the Light Wheat Rolls from this website that I had frozen from last weekend. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I used new potatoes instead of baking and left out the celery and left the recipe with my husband to prepare. Not only was it foolproof to prep and cook, but the flavour of the lamb really came through. This is a basic recipe and great - healthy and very good. Thanks for sharing! My husband insists on making it again (which is fantastic in my books!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I typically make another lamb stew recipe that has red wine, zucchini, tomatoes, fennel, horseradish and chiles. This recipe looks very basic next to it so I was a little skeptical that this would be as satisfying. It was great (the parsley was key for us). This stew has a short ingredient list, was a snap to prep and has a simple flavor that hits the spot. It's a great one to make ahead as the flavor is better the next day. Now I have two great lamb stew recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
My husband likes to go to the farmer's market on Saturday mornings and he's always bringing home something out of the ordinary. This time it was lamb stew meat. I was never exposed to any kind of meat except beef, chicken and pork when I was growing up and never learned how to prepare other meats so I was very glad to find this recipe on the site. It was very easy to prepare with basic ingredients I already had on hand and has a nice flavor. I've made it twice now exactly by the recipe and it turned out perfect both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesa Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was my first attempt at making lamb stew. I followed the advice of others and used new potatoes and cooked it in the crock pot all day. Paired with the Irresistible Irish Soda Bread, it was a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is the very best stew! It is so good! It is a perfect marriage of flavors and the lamb is so tender and the flavor is so mild, everything is perfection! This will make you feel all warm and fuzzy. A must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I tried this recipe for an Irish themed party and everyone liked it. I thought the lamb flavor in it was really strong though and kind of overpowers the other flavors in the stew. So if you really enjoy that flavor then this is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSADAISY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was a big hit at a recent party. The only change I would make would be to thicken the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made this last night and followed the recipe exactly. It was wonderful. My husband's mom used to make this when he was growing up and he loved it. He said it was the same thing and it was all gone. Thank you for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This is a delicious stew. I bought lamb cubes at the local farm market, and removed much of the fat before preparing the stew. I sauteed the lamb cubes for a few minutes just to brown, then prepared the recipe as indicated (without the celery and parsley - didn't have either), and put all ingredients in a crock pot to cook for 8 hours on low. An hour before serving I made a slurry of flour and water, and stirred it into the juice of the stew, re-covered the pot and let it thicken slightly. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Lamb Stew

See how to make a traditional, hearty Irish stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States