Irish Stout Beer Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
stout was way too strong for my family's taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Great and moist roast. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboy52317

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My family and I really enjoyed this last fall and winter. Now that the comfort food season is back I'm ready for more. I often adjust recipes to make them my own, but this one was perfect for me as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rumrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Big hit at our St Patty's Day lunch with friends. Easy to make. Didn't change anything. Flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious and tender! The main thing I do different however is to brown the roast before adding it to the crock pot. I season flour with salt, pepper and garlic powder and coat the roast. Brown the roast on both sides in a pan with a little olive oil. Also I use about 2 lbs of potatoes and 6-8 cloves of garlic instead of just the 1 suggested in the recipe. (We love garlic!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I really liked this pot roast. I did read the other reviews that there was not enough seasoning, but that is easy to fix. I seasoned both sides of the beef with "McCormick Grill Mates Montreal Steak Seasoning". It came out awesome. The stout beer gives it great flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Broher and sister-in-law made this for easter . Awesome ! irish Stout beer works for good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary21667

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I didn't love this meal. I thought it was bland. The meat was good, but I didn't like the way it made the potatoes and veggies taste. It was a dinner and we ate it with no complaints, but I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Very good! I did however need to add a little salt and pepper at the table but I'd rather do that then have it be too salty right out of the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbeyroad
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
3/5 stars because I haven't actually tried it, yet. Sounds like a solid recipe, although I will be making some changes. I will definitely be adding a few sprigs of thyme and some bay leaves, as well as some beef broth or beef bouillon cubes, whichever I happen to have on hand. Also, I will be adding button mushrooms. I love mushrooms! Also, instead of cooking the potatoes with the roast, I'll be making mash on the side. All in all, I am excited to have this especially since my Irish friend from Tipperary will be attending. :D I will re-review once I know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ravosava

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States