Irish Stout Beer Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Loved this recipe! I've even made it twice this month! The only substitution I made was sweet potatoes for white potatoes. The meat was moist and delicious and the veggies perfect. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Big hit at our St Patty's Day lunch with friends. Easy to make. Didn't change anything. Flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I thought this was an amazing roast recipe. my family loved it! It has a nice robust flavor from the Guinness. Nice and moist. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My family and I really enjoyed this last fall and winter. Now that the comfort food season is back I'm ready for more. I often adjust recipes to make them my own, but this one was perfect for me as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rumrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Very good! I did however need to add a little salt and pepper at the table but I'd rather do that then have it be too salty right out of the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbeyroad
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I really liked this pot roast. I did read the other reviews that there was not enough seasoning, but that is easy to fix. I seasoned both sides of the beef with "McCormick Grill Mates Montreal Steak Seasoning". It came out awesome. The stout beer gives it great flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I used 12 ozs Sammy A draft, 1 can 25% less sodium cream of mushroom soup, homemade dry onion soup mix (from this site). I used regular potatoes and chip carrots. I also added a little corn starch to help thicken up the gravy. I don't add salt to any meal so if you want it, add it to your plate. Were quite pleased with this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious and tender! The main thing I do different however is to brown the roast before adding it to the crock pot. I season flour with salt, pepper and garlic powder and coat the roast. Brown the roast on both sides in a pan with a little olive oil. Also I use about 2 lbs of potatoes and 6-8 cloves of garlic instead of just the 1 suggested in the recipe. (We love garlic!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Great and moist roast. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboy52317

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Needs more seasoning, maybe some herbs. I thought it would be salty but it was not. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States