Irish Stout Beer Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Loved this recipe! I've even made it twice this month! The only substitution I made was sweet potatoes for white potatoes. The meat was moist and delicious and the veggies perfect. My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I thought this was an amazing roast recipe. my family loved it! It has a nice robust flavor from the Guinness. Nice and moist. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I used 12 ozs Sammy A draft, 1 can 25% less sodium cream of mushroom soup, homemade dry onion soup mix (from this site). I used regular potatoes and chip carrots. I also added a little corn starch to help thicken up the gravy. I don't add salt to any meal so if you want it, add it to your plate. Were quite pleased with this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was good, but I probably wouldn't go out of my way to make it again as we never buy beer and I use another slow cooker roast recipe on AR that we love. Only changes were to use condensed cheddar cheese soup with diced fresh mushrooms instead of the condensed mushroom soup and a bone-in veal blade roast. I roasted the vegetables separately as I have a small slow cooker. It does need more seasoning though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Very good and meat very tender but not as tasty as Lipton onion/cm of mushroom soup with meat in foil and not quite as flavorful as pot roast in dutch oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Needs more seasoning, maybe some herbs. I thought it would be salty but it was not. Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I really liked this pot roast. I did read the other reviews that there was not enough seasoning, but that is easy to fix. I seasoned both sides of the beef with "McCormick Grill Mates Montreal Steak Seasoning". It came out awesome. The stout beer gives it great flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Very good! I did however need to add a little salt and pepper at the table but I'd rather do that then have it be too salty right out of the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbeyroad
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I didn't love this meal. I thought it was bland. The meat was good, but I didn't like the way it made the potatoes and veggies taste. It was a dinner and we ate it with no complaints, but I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Broher and sister-in-law made this for easter . Awesome ! irish Stout beer works for good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary21667

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Pot Roast

See how to make a simple pot roast baked with mushroom soup and vermouth.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States