Irish Stout Beer Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
stout was way too strong for my family's taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Great and moist roast. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboy52317

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
My family and I really enjoyed this last fall and winter. Now that the comfort food season is back I'm ready for more. I often adjust recipes to make them my own, but this one was perfect for me as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rumrunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Big hit at our St Patty's Day lunch with friends. Easy to make. Didn't change anything. Flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Absolutely delicious and tender! The main thing I do different however is to brown the roast before adding it to the crock pot. I season flour with salt, pepper and garlic powder and coat the roast. Brown the roast on both sides in a pan with a little olive oil. Also I use about 2 lbs of potatoes and 6-8 cloves of garlic instead of just the 1 suggested in the recipe. (We love garlic!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I really liked this pot roast. I did read the other reviews that there was not enough seasoning, but that is easy to fix. I seasoned both sides of the beef with "McCormick Grill Mates Montreal Steak Seasoning". It came out awesome. The stout beer gives it great flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Broher and sister-in-law made this for easter . Awesome ! irish Stout beer works for good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary21667

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I didn't love this meal. I thought it was bland. The meat was good, but I didn't like the way it made the potatoes and veggies taste. It was a dinner and we ate it with no complaints, but I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Very good! I did however need to add a little salt and pepper at the table but I'd rather do that then have it be too salty right out of the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbeyroad
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
3/5 stars because I haven't actually tried it, yet. Sounds like a solid recipe, although I will be making some changes. I will definitely be adding a few sprigs of thyme and some bay leaves, as well as some beef broth or beef bouillon cubes, whichever I happen to have on hand. Also, I will be adding button mushrooms. I love mushrooms! Also, instead of cooking the potatoes with the roast, I'll be making mash on the side. All in all, I am excited to have this especially since my Irish friend from Tipperary will be attending. :D I will re-review once I know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ravosava

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vidor, Texas, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States