Irish Spicy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
wow this was fantastic!! i cut down on the spices by half (for the kids) and baked it in a pyrex pan. Place pan in the oven with butter to warm and melt(not to long though, don't want the butter to burn) pulled the dish out spread the butter around hot pan, poured in batter and baked. Quick, easy, delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This was surprisingly great!I thought it would be very dry and it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
This was soooo good. Of course, I had to play around a little, and melted butter in the skillet instead of cooking spray. Also added a half can of creamed corn and cut back a little on the milk to compensate. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LondonDreaming
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was a big hit at my house and the texture is wonderful! However I found it a little too spicy for myself and small children. Next time I'm going to cut back on the cayenne pepper. This will be the recipe I use to go with my stew!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LondonDreaming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was very well received by the MEN in the family - quite spicy; but that's becuase I really loaded it up! It's very good and very robust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GlimmerGal
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I thought this was a good recipe, however, too much cayenne. I enjoy spicy food, but I think the cayenne over took the recipe. I will try again and reduce the cayenne to 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlimmerGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I would have given this 5 stars except all I could taste was the "tabasco" flavor. It wasn't that it was too spicy it just had that unmistakeable flavor. The consistency of the cornbread was amazing and it was really fun to make. I will be making this often, but perhaps with less tabasco and more cayenne. Overall this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I used this recipe for a community kitchen and it was wonderful!!! It makes an exellent side dish to stew or chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I used to make this all the time, but lost my recipe.Thanks for the review and your right about the cast iron separated pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I will make this again - I forgot to add the hot pepper sauce and I'm sure we'll enjoy the addition of it- I also halved the recipe and served it with the Apricot Lentil Soup for dinner last night. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States