Irish Spicy Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Moist and flavorful. I usually burn cornbread when I try to fix it in an iron skillet but this was perfect. My cornbread hating husband even liked it deeming it "non gritty". I will happily fix this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this for a dinner party the other night and it was definitely a hit! The texture is nice and light and I guess it's because of the 4-12 tsps. of baking powder. The hubby really, really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Recipe easily cut in half for two people. Not too sweet, but nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My family went crazy over this recipe!! I followed instructions to a T, excepting that I put my skillet in the preheated oven right before I mixed in the wet ingredients (cast iron heats up fastl at 400!), and then I checked it at 20 minutes b/c I didn't want it to burn (you can always put it in longer). As far as taste goes, it has the faint traditional sweetness of regular cornbread, but the main thing you taste is this amazing zingy spiciness, which isn't really spicy... It's just a lot if flavorful slight heat, and it complements homemade chili PERFECTLY, which is what we had it with. This recipe is SUPER simple, delicious, and it's just a fun spin a great classic :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This was the best, thank you! I didn't have shortening so I used canola oil and it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
One of my new favorites! I love the way this cornbread tastes. It has a subtle spicy finish. I use Louisiana hot sauce, not Tabasco, and that affects the heat alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is wonderful!!! I've never cared for cornbread, then I tried this recipe. I made smoked pork and beans in the crock pot and my husband likes cornbread. I wanted try something different. Oh my goodness it is delicious. I used butter instead of shortening because it's all I had on hand. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim in Kansas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stewartsville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is the best cornbread I have ever ate! 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is absolutely the very best cornbread I have ever made!! It was light and fluffy, slightly sweet and spicey. I won't use another recipe again. I'm in love
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
The consistency and taste is spot-on (and it looks perfectly golden brown too)! I would only recommend upping the hot pepper ingredients- I followed the recipe's measurements exactly and, while everything else was AWESOME, there was ZERO spice to it! Not even a tiny bit! :( But definitely using the recipe forevermore- it's very easy and fast to prep and bake. I didn't do the skillet thing, but just buttered an 8x10 baking pan. I served it with rice and beans and put some honey on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States