Irish Soda Farls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Made these as part of a traditional Irish Breakfast. Everyone liked them. They were very quick and easy to do. Will try them with herbs and garlic for a great supper bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I like that this is so easy, even for someone who is afraid to work with dough, and takes very little time to make. Also, you don't have to mess around with the oven. This recipe halves nicely. The first time, I used vanilla yogurt instead of buttermilk and added a few teaspoons of sugar to make sweet farls. I sliced the farl in half horizontally while it was hot and spread butter and raspberry jam inside. The second time, I followed the recipe exactly. (Since the recipe doesn't specify how much salt to use, I used 1/8 tsp salt for a half recipe - I think next time I will use more.) It made the kitchen smell good, and kind of like pancakes. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I used yogurt and the 2servings recipe. GREAT!!I took the advice and added a little salt and garlic when I made it for dinner. This is a keeper. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
We make this often and serve with homemade guava jelly. Wonderful! I put just a pinch of salt in the mixture, as the recipe doesn't specify. Also, go easy with sprinkling flour on the griddle. Warm and wonderful-- and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
So easy and so yummy, too! These are one of my husband's favorites and he requests them all the time. Thank you Ita for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
In the morning these are perfect with some butter and jam, but for dinner I add some garlic and pepper to the recipe. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
We've never tasted farls before, but these were just right for a late breakfast! They reminded me of baking soda biscuits, but were so much easier to make. The dough is sticky, but with enough flour its no problem at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Not very good.It was like cave man bread. Even frying it in bacon grease did not redeem it. I served it with the iish breakfast from this site. Next time I'll have a good ol' southern breakfast instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johnnabonna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rashel
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Yum! This bread was so down to earth and hearty. I loved it...especially with rhubarb jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selah, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Everyone loved these. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States