Irish Soda Farls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
these were so good, and terribly easy, i worried that i kneaded them too much, but they turned out so soft! I also replaced 1/4 cup plain yogurt. My roommates ate them without asking even! try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
My dough was really soft, even after I added some additional flour, so instead of rolling it out and cutting it, I just dropped blobs of it on the griddle. I found my heat needed to be medium high in order to get them to brown properly. Nevertheless, I enjoyed them with some butter and jam. I'm not sure I would make them regularly, but they were a nice St. Patrick's Day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Gorgeous!! They are somewhat similar to Aussie damper. They are a delightful flavor and texture and so, so easy to make. I don't keep buttermilk on hand so I use regular milk with a Tbsp of vinegar or lemon juice and it works just great. My kids and husband adore this recipe and we could eat it every night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Very simple and fool proof. And works perfectly. I most often use plain yogurt and make the dough with a Kitchenaid mixer, adding extra flour or yogurt until the dough cleans the steel bowl (but don't make the dough stiff). Next, I spread the dough on a frying pan dusted with flour and cook/fry in the stove, turning once after a while. I make the cuts after the farl is ready. The basic recipe is great... you can also add herbs (e.g. fresh rosemary) or any other aromatic stuff for a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Piracicaba, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Lovely simple bread in a hurry! I used plain yogurt instead of buttermilk, had to add a bit of additional milk, and it rose beautifully in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This tastes exactly like the soda farls we get back in Ireland which I was so desperatly craving!! So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Made this with rye flour and ate it with whiskey marmalade it was grand, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Rustic looking biscuits, and you don't have to turn the oven on! I had dried buttermilk so I used that. Added 1/2 tsp salt (recipe forgets to say how much). Cut 8 biscuits instead of 4, and used my cast-iron skillet. It got real smoky at first - I don't think you need any flour in the pan if the biscuits are already quite floured, and don't let the pan get too hot. The first batch came out good - dark brown color when done. Then tried cooking the rest covered with a lid on, at a low heat, 5 mins each side - they rose up a little higher that way. Maybe try one as a test until you get the hang of it. They come out looking dark and rustic when done, with a nice chewy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Just a plain peice of bread. It reminded me of a tortilla, and tasted like wonton dough. i think though, if you cut it open and stuffed it with something like cheese, pepperonis, and pizza sauce,, it would make a perfect pizza taco (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
My family loves these! I do have to cut them in half to make them thinner so that they cook all the was through. Wonderful alternative to biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States