Irish Soda Farls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
My family visited Ulster for a month when I was in high school. We would buy these from a bakery in the village where we stayed. Haven't had them since. This recipe is exactly how I remember them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I love how I can just throw this together in the morning before class with so little ingredients and have a satisfying breakfast. The only problem I had was that when I sprinkled my pan with flour, it burned. Probably due to the thinness of the pan (I just used a regular one) or having the heat too high, but when the farls were cooking I had no problems. Didn't need a lid like other users found was necessary. Definitely will be making this again, an easy dish to make to pull me through college mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Absolutely wonderful recipe. I've made this quite a few times since discovering it on here & it always goes over very well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I followed the recipe listed, although i made only a single serving (1/4 of original). Flattened the dough to about 1/2 inch and then cooked on heavy-bottomed skilled, with the lid. I did turn up the heat a little towards the end to a little past medium to brown the outside a bit more but the end result was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I just returned from Ireland, and these are so close to the real thing! The recipe instructions say to mix the salt with the flour, but the ingredients do not list salt. I added only a tiny bit. Also, I covered the skillet because the center didn't seem to be cooking, and that fixed the problem. YUMMY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Absolutely loved these. Quickly made them right before dinner and served warm with honey and jam. They did take longer than I expected on the stove, so I put them in the oven for a few more minutes. (Used a cast iron skillet.) Sliced lengthwise to make 8 slices. I told my parents about my newest "favorite" recipe, and my 100% Irish Dad said, "I'll have to stop over for breakfast sometime." My husband and kids loved them,too. One small problem was that a few of them got too browned on one side, but nothing that posed a problem. Still absolutely delicious. This is real authentic Irish to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
these were so good, and terribly easy, i worried that i kneaded them too much, but they turned out so soft! I also replaced 1/4 cup plain yogurt. My roommates ate them without asking even! try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
My dough was really soft, even after I added some additional flour, so instead of rolling it out and cutting it, I just dropped blobs of it on the griddle. I found my heat needed to be medium high in order to get them to brown properly. Nevertheless, I enjoyed them with some butter and jam. I'm not sure I would make them regularly, but they were a nice St. Patrick's Day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Gorgeous!! They are somewhat similar to Aussie damper. They are a delightful flavor and texture and so, so easy to make. I don't keep buttermilk on hand so I use regular milk with a Tbsp of vinegar or lemon juice and it works just great. My kids and husband adore this recipe and we could eat it every night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Very simple and fool proof. And works perfectly. I most often use plain yogurt and make the dough with a Kitchenaid mixer, adding extra flour or yogurt until the dough cleans the steel bowl (but don't make the dough stiff). Next, I spread the dough on a frying pan dusted with flour and cook/fry in the stove, turning once after a while. I make the cuts after the farl is ready. The basic recipe is great... you can also add herbs (e.g. fresh rosemary) or any other aromatic stuff for a twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Piracicaba, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States