Irish Soda Farls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is really good, really easy! I added a 1/4t salt and 2T oil. They turned out very soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
It needs salt, but you can always sprinkle that on after. It's taste is pretty decent, but I'm giving it 5 instead of 4 stars for convenience - it takes almost not time to make and is very easy! Wonderful to have a bread recipe for the stove top you can whip up last minute while your entree is in the oven! P.S. I kneaded the dough on a never-used rollable cutting board (this way you know it's clean, whereas my counter I never feel I can really get clean enough), and it makes cleanup after very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I had never had a Soda Farl before so I tried these. They tasted good but reminded me of a really heavy pancake. It was fun to try them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I tried making it once and it didn't come out right, so I tried again thinking I must have done something wrong. The batter was so thin, it was like pancake batter. How are you supposed to knead that?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Excellent !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
These are really good. I have made english muffins before and they require a lot more time because of the yeast. This is an easier breakfast bread to make in the morning. I've seen other farl recipes that cook much longer. Maybe mine were too thick but it definitely needed longer than the 6 to 8 minutes per side. I was too impatient to wait the full 20 per side that I saw on another recipe but I did do 15. I do think next time I will plan for the full 20 because they were a tad doughy in spots. I used an electric skillet at 300 and it was the perfect temp... nice and brown but not burned. My whole family enjoyed them and now want me to add things like raisins so I will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This was pretty good, but I prefer the moister Potato Farls. I served this as part of "Ferg's Ulster Fry Up", which I recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Just wonderful. I used skimmed milk with vinegar instead of buttermilk, 1 tsp salt & 1 1/2 tsp sugar. They came out perfectly. I make scones at the drop of a hat and these were darned near as good and so much faster. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great, simple recipe! If scones and Irish soda bread had a baby, this would be it. ;) I've made this a couple of times in the past week, and each time it gets better! It's really forgiving and easy to change up. I like to make them with about 2/3 C of raisins or chocolate chips. They're also good made with whole wheat flour. My only complaint is that the dough is VERY sticky. I find that adding a little whole wheat flour to the dough helps. On the whole, delicious; my family loves this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Easy to make. My wife loves it! Great in place of biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankenmuth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States