Irish Soda Farls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Awesome biscuit-like patties good with butter and jam or just plain. I added some whole wheat flour for added nutrition and to make the dough firmer. Add enough to make dough easy to form into biscuit patties and cook on dry griddle over low heat so they do not burn before cooking through. Cover pan after turning to help them cook evenly. Quick and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
These are so hearty and wonderful and best of all easy to make. You can eat them with anything, or just by themselves. I subbed a half cup of whole wheat flour for regular flour when I made them just to add a little texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
My hubby is from Belfast and he's been saying for years we should make our own soda farls. Well we finally decided to and we found this recipe and man o man were they good. We make them all the time and can't believe we didn't do it sooner. Ita's recipe is so easy and so delicious. Thank you. Now if only we could find a recipe for Christmas dumpling we'd be set lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Simple. Delicious! I made mine vegan by putting 1 TBSP of cider vinegar in a cup and filling it to the 1 cup mark with plain soy milk. My son has a dairy allergy AND I didn't have buttermilk in the house anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGGAN1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katelovesbaking
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This recipe is really, really, awesome! It is my go-to recipe when I don't want to bake something in the oven and yet I still want some nice soft, fluffy bread for breakfast or brunch. It is so quick to make this, so there's no waiting on yeast to rise! I don't really have many tips to add except that I have gotten in the habit of adding 1 cup all purpose white flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour instead of just 2 cups of white flour. That way the recipe is still good and has a nice texture, but is a bit healthier to eat. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelovesbaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
It's been 40 years since I moved to Canada and this is the closest I have come to the real things. Humadity is a big problem here so I find boiling a stew and adding a wee pinch of baking powder to the mix made them just like Mortons Bakery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
As far as farls go, this was a good one. JK, I have never had or made Soda Bread and this was really good. Bread is a little overwhelming to me but this wasn't. I took the advise of another reviewer and I crumbled two tbls of butter into the dry mixture then added the milk/lemon juice (I didn't have any butter milk). The only issue that I had was it looked like it wasnt going to finish in the center so I put a lid over it for a few minutes. We ate it with butter and honey, it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I tried this recipe this morning. It worked! I mean bread in a skillet? I was wary. But the bread/farls turned out well. I halved the recipe and made 2 batches. First, I made as per recipe. Tasted unexciting and plain. In the second batch, I added 1/2 cup of toasted mixed cereals (with fruits, nuts & rolled oats) in place of 1/4 cup flour. I also added 2 tbp of butter and 1/4 tsp of soda. The farls still turned out soft and just like scones. I didn't bother to knead. Like a reviewer advised, I mixed it longer then hand shaped into flattened patty and placed on a clay pot. I didn't have a heavy skillet. It took about 4 mins a side. So quick and nutritious with the buttermilk and extra cereals. All in I had the farls on the table under 20 mins. A nice change from store bought bread or pancakes. I'm going to experiment with other ingredients like cheese, herbs and garlic powder! Maybe even choc chips. I'm so glad I found this recipe!! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I'm pretty sure I just didn't do this right, but nothing about my farls was good. They were tough, bland, and felt globby in my mouth. I think I'll ask real Irish to make these in the future, as I just cannot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States