Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This bread is PHENOMENAL! I was a little nervous at its consistency as during the preparation phase, it doesn't resemble a typical bread loaf. It was more like very loose chocolate chip cookie dough, but that's ok -- that's the way it should be. This was delicious beyond words and is now a part of my permanent recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
I tried all the Irish soda bread recipes I could find. This was by far the best -- not just easy, but beautiful, amazingly moist and flavorful. I've made it over and over at the requests of family and friends. Toasts beautifully too, and wonderful with marmalade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
This is an excellent recipe....I made it a bit "low fat" by using light sour cream and making buttermilk from skim milk and vinegar. I also reduced the amount of raisens to about 1 cup and it was perfect. I didn't even "knead" it in the bowl, just transferred the batter directly to the baking dish for shaping and baking. Everyone asked for the recipe. Excellent toasted in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
Fast, easy, delicious. What more could you want? I made four loaves of this bread in less than an hour last St. Paddy's day, and have made it several times since. If you have any leftovers it makes great French toast or bread pudding. I did leave out the raisins because we don't care for them, and it was definitely sweet enough without them (you can pull back the sugar to 1/3 cup). I also made some loaves without the caraway. I love caraway but many people don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
This is wonderful! Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Very Easy to make and delicious to eat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Wow!!!!! Delicious. This was truly the best Irish soda bread recipe I have ever tried and will never use a different one EVER. I too was concerned with the consistancy but for no reason. I did change it just a little to lower the fat and calories. I used egg sustitute, low fat sour cream and made my own sour milk using skim milk and lemon juice and omitted the raisins(I don't like them in bread). It did nothing to lower the integrity of this recipe. I will be making this again for Easter brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
Simple, delicious. A great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
My Irish mother in-law gave it two thumbs up! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
we loved this bread. Just a slight hint of sweetness. I did not have any buttermilk and just used regular 1%. There were no complaints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States