Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Shhhh... Don't tell Nana! I couldn't find Nana's Irish Bread recipe, but we really want some. I found this recipe and.... Oh, uh... It's better than Nana's! Really! This is our go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Absolutely wonderful and easy. Made it for the first time today with a friend and thrilled with the results. Crusty and chewy and delicious. We made 2 loaves and used a 15 oz. box of raisins between us which was just perfect. Would not change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Kestin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I actually really like this. It was not the soda bread that I was expecting. It was denser, more moist, and sweeter than what I was looking for. Still, it was very good. We had it with beef stew and the sweetness of the raisins was lovely. I only used 1.5 cups of raisins and that was fine for me. Also I thought I had sour cream and it turned out that I didn't, so I added another 3/4 cup buttermilk and 4 TB butter in a pinch. I will make again for sure. Couldn't do the x on top as I like because it was not elastic enough, but it did have a sufficiently crusty exterior. I baked in a 9 inch cake pan. It took 60 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I've made this twice now and the first time I made it exactly as the recipe calls for, and it was Amazing!!!!! The second time I only had one cup of raisins and about half a cup sour cream, it was still really good, but better the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I've made a few different recipes, this is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I have tried various recipes, some better than others. This was perfect for me. Add raisins using your own discretion. I did use a 10" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have been making soda bread for 50 years. This is by far the best recipe. To make a delicious Christmas bread, omit the caraway seeds, substitute 1 cup of glazed cherries, 1 cup of walnuts or pecans for two of the cups of raisins. Use 1 cup of currants/raisins. We like this bread better than Christmas Stollen, which is a sweeter bread. Be sure to allow all ingredients to be at room temperature before combining. This is a winner. I have adjusted the baking time downward to accommodate my high oven. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
So very easy and delishious. Thanks for the simplicity texture and memory
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I make this bread every March, and usually once in the fall when baking season starts up, just because I can't wait to snack on it again! Great for soaking up stew, delicious with a little coconut oil spread on top, and good even just by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Bread recipes do not usually call for eggs, as adding eggs to bread makes them more cake-like and less bread-like. With this recipe, adding eggs probably counteracts the amount of liquid that is being used, as opposed to the normal 1 3/4 cup buttermilk (or Yogurt). Essentially, you could switch Yogurt for the buttermilk, especially if you wanted another flavor to the bread (after all, all it's looking for is cultured/soured milk). Overall the bread recipe came out OK, but it was more cakey than Soda bread would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Tarantino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 518) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States