Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by sue
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This was by far the best. The texture is not crumbly or dry. I did add more sugar and made my buttermilk with whole milk and lemon juice. Cooked 1 1/2 hours. Mm mm seven with honey butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This bread is so good! It was so easy to make and turned out to be one of the best breads I have made. My family all loved it. I will be making it again. It is a keeper! I will say I added golden raisins and because I didn't have enough I also used Craisins. I baked in a 9" round pan. Delicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I made this recipe last night. I did not change a thing, and this bread turned out WONDERFUL! This is the exact taste, and texture i like. Its a bit more "cakey" then "bready", which is the way I love my irish soda bread. Thanks for such a great recipe. This is the first time I ever tried making it, I am so happy I found this recipe, I have to look no further.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Loved this! So easy to make and turned out great. Definitely brush the top with buttermilk, but do not dust with flour. I omitted the caraway seeds as a personal preference and used 2 cups of raisins instead of 3. This recipe is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Shhhh... Don't tell Nana! I couldn't find Nana's Irish Bread recipe, but we really want some. I found this recipe and.... Oh, uh... It's better than Nana's! Really! This is our go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Absolutely wonderful and easy. Made it for the first time today with a friend and thrilled with the results. Crusty and chewy and delicious. We made 2 loaves and used a 15 oz. box of raisins between us which was just perfect. Would not change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I actually really like this. It was not the soda bread that I was expecting. It was denser, more moist, and sweeter than what I was looking for. Still, it was very good. We had it with beef stew and the sweetness of the raisins was lovely. I only used 1.5 cups of raisins and that was fine for me. Also I thought I had sour cream and it turned out that I didn't, so I added another 3/4 cup buttermilk and 4 TB butter in a pinch. I will make again for sure. Couldn't do the x on top as I like because it was not elastic enough, but it did have a sufficiently crusty exterior. I baked in a 9 inch cake pan. It took 60 minutes in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I've made this twice now and the first time I made it exactly as the recipe calls for, and it was Amazing!!!!! The second time I only had one cup of raisins and about half a cup sour cream, it was still really good, but better the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I've made a few different recipes, this is the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I have tried various recipes, some better than others. This was perfect for me. Add raisins using your own discretion. I did use a 10" pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States