Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Perfect as it is. No additions or subtractions. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Perfect recipe! I just made this yesterday morning. The bread's crust softens a lot after a few hours. I followed another reviewer's suggestion to let bread cool about 30 minutes, then lightly wrap the warm bread in foil to trap some moisture. This will be on my table every St. Patrick's Day to go with Guinnes stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
My spouse is irish and i have family recipes, have made many irish soda breads and this was by far one of the best..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammie Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I've made a few Irish Soda bread recipes off the site. I tried this one today because it was made in a cast iron skillet. After measuring all of my pans I found the correct size and made a loaf. This bread is DELICIOUS! I used about 2 cups of golden raisins and opted to not use the caraway seeds. It came out crusty and delicious. After cooling it I put it into a plastic bag and it stayed softer and very moist and still yummy. Tonight I will feed it to my critics...my kids and grands. I'm sure they will agree with me. Try this, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
OMG! This is so easy and SO good!! I followed the recipe exactly with two exceptions: I didn't have any sour cream, so I used fat free Greek yogurt, and I used 3 cups all purpose flour and 1 cup white whole wheat flour. I mixed it all in my stand mixer and baked it in my 10" cast iron skillet. It was done in 65 minutes. It turned out beautifully and was absolutely delicious. We loved it and it will remail in my "keeper" recipe file!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
MIne was way too wet to knead. I added a little more flour which might have been a mistake. I don't know. It was still wet with additional flour. I just went ahead and put it in the prepared pan and put it in the oven, It came out sooo good. I tried another recipe for Irish soda bread last year and it wasn't so great. I am glad I tried agan with this one. (I didn' have caraway seeds, so I just left them out. I don't even know what they taste like, so I don't know how much they wold change the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
While this is a wonderful tea bread,it is NOT a traditional Irish soda bread which doesn't have NEARLY this amount of sugar or dried fruit. Go ahead and enjoy, but real soda bread is made with less than 2 Tablespoons sugar but does include wholemeal or whole wheat flour and buttermilk. Just as easy to prepare and works well with the main course, unlike the sweet version here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
This is the best soda bread recipe for an American kitchen. Most buttermilk is skimmed - no fat. To replace the fat, sour cream is the trick. Let the bread rest for a day under a dish towel. To the reviewer, who wrote she had never heard of a cross cut in the top, there is always a cross (vent) on the top so that the fairies can escape. If you don't know what they are, you're not Irish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Scrumptious! And oh so easy! I was nervous about the sticky dough, but I got rave reviews from my children and the teachers I shared with. When I mixed the dry ingredients, I made sure that the raisins all got individually separated (they tend to clump in the package). When I added the wet ingredients, I used a wooden spoon to gently stir everything just until well blended - no further kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I'm debating 4 or 5 stars. The caraway seeds gave it a nice twist but still not sure if it's in a good way. Must ponder some more. Ok I give up. It is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 21-30 (of 523) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States