Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Five Stars plus hands down ! I had company coming over for St. Patricks day so I wanted the whole traditional thing. I was worried being as I had never had soda bread before. This recipe was WONDERFUL (I did cut the raisin size in half and no caraway seeds) .... the loaf was totally eaten at dinner and my husband who does not eat carbs ... well he has asked if I would make loaf #3 for him today. I made a loaf and took it to a club meeting and I was asked by a neighbor if he could bring the rest home ..... lets just say it was a HIT !!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat62
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Easy to make, and great to eat. I did follow the advice of other reviewers and added cinnamon and used only 1 cup of raisins. Next time I'll use even more cinnamon and increase to 2 cups of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
My husband's mother was right from Ireland and everyone said her mother's soda bread was the best..until now. Everyone who tried it wants the recipe...not sure if I'll share lol DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CTBeachgrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This is the best Irish Soda bread recipe yet. Everyone loved it - including all the raisins. It was a bit sticky and I didn't want to over mix/knead, so I didn't get to score the top...it looked a bit odd, but still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I made this to go along with my corned beef and cabbage, everybody just loved it! I didn't have buttermilk so I soured my own milk with vinegar, other than that it was the only thing I did different. The caraway seeds just made this bread delishes, and a sweet taste of raisin every once in a while was so good. Everybody wanted the recipe. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This came out great! Was a little hesitant because the dough was sooooo sticky but i guess thats exactly how it should be. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Baked this today with my sister--it was so so so so so awesome!!! I skipped the caraway seeds because I couldn't find any at the grocery store and put only a little bit of raisins. When kneading the dough, I thought that I could've forgotten an ingredient or something, it was so sticky. But it turned out great! Definitely will bake this again! :3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was the best Soda Bread I have ever had. I made it for St. Pat's day and the whole family loved it! I've been told I have to make it every St. Pat's from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This was such an easy bread! I could easily see adding different ingredients to vary the flavors a little. Minced onion, sharp cheddar, chives, lots of possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States