Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is very yummy, but not at all like real Irish Soda Bread. If you enjoy the flavor of soda bread, but not the coarse, crumbly texture of it, you will probably really like this recipe. I will make it again, but not as soda bread. It is just a yummy recipe for a nice loaf to enjoy with jam or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this bread for my second-grader's St. Patrick's Day celebration. I opted for this recipe over a traditional family one, and what an improvement! This won over the picky eaters in the classroom and left everyone asking for more! Crazy easy and crazy good. Serve it with Kerrygold Irish Butter, and you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
great-I veganized it by substituting equivalent wet volume of rice milk with a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar for the egg and dairy products. loved the caraway seeds, nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
So easy and delish! I did modify the fruit(1 c raisin, 1/2 c chopped apricots, 1/2 cup craisins). not sure if the caraway seeds are necessary, but i did add them. Got rave reviews at my cooking club. A keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I have tried so many Irish Soda Bread recipes. They all tasted good, but were dry and crumbly. This one is the absolute best! Great taste and texture with just enough moisture. I made it, as written, except eliminated the caraway seeds. I will keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Locust Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Uniondale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AL
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Great recipe I used a cup of golden raisins and a cup of dried cherries, the dough was quite sticky so I just stirred in more flour a 1/4 cup at a time until it was manageable while turning in the bowl. Also brushed on the 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup buttermilk a couple of times while baking from another recipe. I had to adjust the temp down to 325 because it was getting too done too fast but that could have been my oven. I just hope it will come out this good every time because I think it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was my first attempt at an Irish Soda Bread and I am pleased to say that it came out great! I baked it in a skillet and used only 2 cups of raisins because that is all I had on hand. I think 2 cups was enough. The dough is really wet and sticky and I wasn't sure if I kneaded it properly, but it was fine. Don't be turned off by that the messy dough. It is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Worst "irish soda bread" ever, porportions are all wrong, way too much liquids making the dough way too sticky. way too many raisins. Adding the caraway seeds is a mistake. I was skeptical of the seeds with the raisins but decided to try it anyway and it turned out grose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Wow! I made it according to the instructions, minus 1 cup of raisins since I didn't have 3 cups. Came out perfect! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is the only Irish bread I have ever made or eaten. I skipped the raisons this time but I think I will try it with them next go around, other than that I followed the recipe. My wife and I think it turned out very good. We made Ruban Paninni with it the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States