Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I have been trying to make a good Irish soda bread for over 20 years. Being of italian decent never knew about it until it was introduced by my born in Ireland mother in law. Since my Irish mother in law passed 20 years ago taking her recipe to the grave, my husband tells me not as good as Mom's. never gave up. Well I need to say this is it. Finally my PITA husband agreed, this is outstanding. Follow exactly and it is fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This bread is delicious! I made it for our St. Patrick's Day party and received many compliments and requests for the recipe. I followed the recipe with the exception of reducing the amount of raisins to two cups rather than three. I give it a rating of 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made this for a St. Paddy's party and it was definitely a hit. Very moist. Raisins could be omitted if not a fan favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I enjoyed it; it tasted very authentic and a good way to enjoy St Paddy's Day. However, for personal preference I too would have dropped the caraway seeds and added a bit more sugar for a sweeter bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mystic Rains

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
we love this recipe, very easy and delicious,for someone that thinks bread is heard to make, this recipe will change your mind, thanks for sharing it!!! Elaine jo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
For a healthier option, I substituted Greek yogurt for the sour cream. My kids actually prefered it this way! Delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
excellent, didnt alter the recipe at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Very tasty ! LOTS of raisins - which was ok for us. Also don't be scared by the carraway seeds : the quantity is perfect to add a twist without any"pharmacical" bad taste.. The bread didn't raise like on the picture though :-( Maybe too old soda? But deserves an other try : was too good with butter or apricot jam...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Typically I let my Bread Machine Prepare my bread but I gave this recipe a shot and Loved It!. Had a Dinner Party for 4 and Everyone Loved it and Took Some Home!.. Try it in the toaster the next day and it is equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I ate Irish Soda Bread for the first time last weekend and loved it. Wanted to try making it myself. This recipe was nothing like what I had tasted - not as sweet,more moist and heavy plus caraway seeds. Dough was sticky so wasn't sure how to handle it. Made it exactly by the receipe except used 1 cup of golden raisins. Even though it wasn't what I expected, I loved the result. Had to put part of it in the freezer as I was afraid I would pig out and eat the whole loaf. Will make again but may add a little more flour to make it easier to handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States