Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
This recipe is "Tried and True" I used a scant 2 cups of "plumped in hot water" raisins. I used 1 teaspoon of caraway. Next time I will use either 1 1/2 teaspoons or 2 teaspoons caraway. This batter was not like cookie dough but more like a thick cake batter. I made it in my cast iron skillet but next time may use a spring-form pan. It was delicious and got rave reviews! Consider sprinkling the top with confectioners next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
It was very good. I did cover the top with foil for the last 10 mins or so. Used the bread for maple turkey sandwiches two days later and was still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenaJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
First time making this and will NOT be my last. The only thing I changed was 1 1/2 cup raisins and 1 1/2 cup currants... Received fabulous compliments from co-workers and friends. Thank you SO much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmamaduck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Made (and ate) this for the first time yesterday (St. Patty's). Though I ran short of (white) raisins -used ~2.25 cups- and pulled it out 5 minutes early (I was afraid it would be hard as a scone) it came out delicious, and with just enough softness. Even though it's just for me and the husband, I'm having to ration it out, otherwise he'd eat it all at once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I tried this the other day because it was St. Patricks Day, and it turned out amazing! I was worried when I was making it because it was super sticky. But in the end it turned out amazing! I didn't add the caraway seeds and added dried cherries instead of raisins and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
So delicious! It was an immediate hit with my family. This recipe is definitely a keeper and my son says he'd like it more than just St. Patrick's Day. I didn't have caraway seeds (though I personally like them) and used 1cup golden raisins and 1cup currents. Next time, I'll divide it in half for 2 loaves as this recipe made one HUGE loaf--too much for 3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made it for St. Patrick's Day, to go with our corned beef and cabbage. It turned out perfect and was a huge hit! I will keep this recipe, for sure, and will use it again. Couple things I did differently. I used milk, soured with vinegar, since I had no buttermilk. I used Greek Fage unflavored yogurt in place of the sour cream. Other than these minor changes I followed the recipe. Also, because I didn't start the recipe till one hour before our company arrived, I decided to divide the dough into two halves and bake for half the time. I baked the two loaves for 25 minutes, checked with a toothpick, still a tad bit doughy, and baked for another 5 minutes. Perfect!! Melts in your mouth with butter! I will note, that the recipe says "Dough will be sticky" and this is for sure. But don't be concerned; this, I think, is what makes the bread so delicious and moist after it's done baking. All in all, I would say this one is a keeper. Luck of the Irish to you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Really nice bread. Added a little honey, cut the raisins back to about 1C, just a few shakes of caraway and substituted plain yogurt for the sour cream. Great texture and flavor. Did take the full time to bake fully in the center, using a cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I made three different soda breads today, and this one was a Hugh hit! Simple to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Left out the caraway seeds and reduced the raisins by half (maybe more). This bread turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States