Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
THIS IS A GREAT RECIPE, BUT YOU NEED TO CUT THE AMOUNT OF RAISINS, OR IT COMES OUT LIKE RAISIN BREAD AND IS TOO SWEET. I USED 2 CUPS, BUT WILL USE 1 1/2 CUPS NEXT TIME. I ALSO CUT BACK SOME ON THE CARAWAY. OTHERWISE IT IS MOIST AND BEAUTIFUL. TRY IT !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Best Soda Bread Ever! Bread was moist and tender. Used only 2 cups raisins which were plenty. Even though I forgot to put on the timer and the bread probably baked 15 minutes too long, the bread was moist and delicious. It is now my go to recipe for soda bread...and for raisin bread. No leftover to try it as French Toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoilyLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sugar Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Surry, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Children enjoyed this. 16 yo son thought plain bread could be more versatile. Husband thought this had too many raisins, otherwise liked it. The batter I made was too thin to 'knead' in any way at all, thus was also too thin to 'slash' effectively, but still nice. Might make again, but want to try some other Irish breads for now, as I'm looking for something to go with leek and oatmeal soup....... Brotchan Roy, or Foltchep, they call it......, and this is too sweet for that......, fun, but too sweet for my soup......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very easy to make and delicious. I used fat free sour cream, skim milk with 1 tablespoon of vinegar instead of the buttermilk and didn't add the caraway seeds cuz I didn't have any. The result was a very quick, low fat and yummy bread! NExt time I might try using half whole wheat flour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fun74hu
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
It was my first try at this bread. I found a couple of others before my friend pointed me to this recipe. Being that I am Hungarian and we put sour cream into everything, I went with this recipe. I was happy and my potential future in-laws were very pleased as well. It did scare me how sticky the dough was and I did have to reduce the heat a bit, as the dough started to brown fast- after about 20 minutes. By adjusting the heat I felt I had better control and both versions (raisins+caraway seeds; currant) came out to perfection. THANK YOU for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fun74hu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used ground caraway (all I had) in the same proportion. My only complaint was that the raisins were overwhelming. 3 cups is just entirely too much but I'm not sure what will happen to the recipe if I cut it down by half. Otherwise I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe, especially the sweet, aromatic crust. mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Rave reviews from my family! he buttermilk an sour cream made all the difference - do not leave these out! Bread was moist and very tasty. I baked in a 9 inch round pan for 65 minutes and it came out absolutely perfect. I will definitely make this again. KK from BR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Loved it. Made it just the way the recipe is listed. Loved all the raisins and the taste of caraway seeds. I did find that it was done at 60 minutes, probably because my oven runs a little hot? So do start checking at 60 minutes. I used a cake pan this time; might use a round casserole pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this and it was the biggest hit ever! This recipe will be apart of my St. Paddy's repertoire from now on! Big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djdaisy33

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I wish I could give this more than just 5 stars! This is a WONDERFUL recipe that will delight you! I had to omit the caraway seeds as I could not find them at the grocery store. Thanks for sharing this recipe with all of us. It was a lovely way to celebrate the feast of St. Patrick and I will be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States