Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I am not a bread baker and not really even a bread eater, but I fixed this for a St. Patrick's Day dinner and I thought it was wonderful! The dough is very sticky to work with, but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This is the closes recipe to the orthenic Irish soda bread. My mother came from Ireland and the only differecne to the this recipe is that the caraway seeds were increased to 3 to 4 tablespoons. The seeds is what gives the bread is taste and not a flavor of cake. Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
My first time making this recipe was for a St. Patrick's day potluck this year. I made the full recipe and split the dough into two greased pie pans. Suffice to say, there were no leftovers after the Irish boys realized there was soda bread around and I'm keeping this one as an alternate to scones from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was my first attempt to ever make an Irish Soda Bread and I thought it was really good!!! Will make it everytime to go along with corned beef and cabbage!!! Easy too! I would skip on the caraway next time, just cuz I dont like the taste of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmInMontana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I made it tonight without any caraway or raisins- and only half the sugar. I was plenty sweet, smelled like cornbread cooking, and turned out dense, very moist and crispy brown on the top. So very delicious. (I also sprinkled kosher salt, garlic powder and poppy seeds on top prior to baking). I think next time I'll make cinnamon raisin bread from this dough and technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
The best Irish Soda Bread ever! I tried baking it with 2 cups of raisins and that was delicious. Also baked it with 3 cups of raisins and I have to say it was even more delicious! (Make sure you use baking raisins - extra moist for baking). Used only 1/2 TB caraway seeds - for authenticity. I have fussy eaters and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This recipe was so easy to do! I made it for my family on St. Patrick's day. It was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This was surprisingly easy to make. I think I either measured wrong on the flour or there's just too much but I had a ton of flour I was brushing off when the bread was done in the oven. I was surprised to know there's sour cream in the recipe! haha I'm not too big of a fan of irish soda bread, but I had to make it, you can't NOT have it. Everyone else absolutely loved it and it did taste right haha so that's a good thing! Will make this again next year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I left out the raisins, but this bread was a big hit with everyone I served it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soberlivingisgreat
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
It is so good i had to make it 3 times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soberlivingisgreat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 121-130 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States